Florida is Anti-Drone. Unconstitutional?

captainmilehigh

Premium Pilot
Reaction score
First of all, I'm fairly new at the drone thing and the PhantomPilots Forum, so if this subject has been covered before I apologize. But since I'm still learning this hobby I was really amazed at how much my state (Fl) hates drones. For all Florida drone pilots I urge you to read Florida Statute 934.50. (just google 'Florida drone laws' and it should be there.). Seems that Florida has gone overboard in enforcing the "Freedom from Unwanted Surveillance Act" when it comes to our hobby. So, any images captured by my P3S may violate this law. Next will be cell phone pics and video. If I take a cell phone video of my grandsons baseball game, but capture images of 15 other people in the background, I need their written permission to be filmed.? Yeah, right. If there are drone lobbyists or associations in place to stop this madness please let me know. If there isn't, there NEEDS to be. And just to add to this point, a local TV station here in North Florida added a licensed drone to their local news coverage. That lasted about two months. They have since shut down the drone due to legal issues with the state statutes, and replaced it with a full size news chopper. Like I said, I'm new to the drone thing, but FLORIDA PILOTS, what can we do about this mess?

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

This has been discussed before.

(e) “Surveillance” means:
1. With respect to an owner, tenant, occupant, invitee, or licensee of privately owned real property, the observation of such persons with sufficient visual clarity to be able to obtain information about their identity, habits, conduct, movements, or whereabouts; or
2. With respect to privately owned real property, the observation of such property’s physical improvements with sufficient visual clarity to be able to determine unique identifying features or its occupancy by one or more persons.
(3) PROHIBITED USE OF DRONES.—