Flight simulator in no-fly zone

Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
63
Reaction score
5
My house didn't used to be in a no-fly zone. With my Phantom 2, I used to fly around my neighborhood all the time. There's an airport about 1/2 a mile away, but it's a regional airport without a ton of traffic, and I know the flight pattern really well. Keeping my P2 under 400 feet and flying around my neighborhood was never an issue.

Now, I'm the proud owner of a Phantom 3 Pro, and suddenly my house is in a no-fly zone. In fact, my whole neighborhood is! My regional airport has been put on the Category B list. Lame!

But here's the kicker... I can't even use the simulator! WTF?!

Anyone have any ideas on how to work around this?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
277
Reaction score
103
Age
46
Im not asking for any other reason than I can foreword a sectional that would define the airspace 0.5 miles from the airport...

Why the simulator doesn't work, is probably because the simulator code is tied to the restrictions.. And IMHO should be separated in the software code to allow you to harmlessly use the sim at your residence.. Contact DJI and make a request they do that. It's probably an oversight on their part and wouldn't require much effort to include it in a future update.
 
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
853
Reaction score
469
Location
Big Bear, CA
Im not asking for any other reason than I can foreword a sectional that would define the airspace 0.5 miles from the airport...

Why the simulator doesn't work, is probably because the simulator code is tied to the restrictions.. And IMHO should be separated in the software code to allow you to harmlessly use the sim at your residence.. Contact DJI and make a request they do that. It's probably an oversight on their part and wouldn't require much effort to include it in a future update.

Already reported.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
277
Reaction score
103
Age
46
Ahh Monterey Airport.. I love that place.... I'm jealous, I wish I could get outa the Los Angeles Area...
Here a link to an image of the sectional...
http://skyvector.com/?ll=36.59880563898569,-121.81927028826453&chart=301&zoom=1


Unfortunately your well within the Class C surface area.. It extends from the ground to 4200 feet. With the weather being IFR there often, that surface area is well used for Precision approaches and Missed approaches...

Glad Blade Strike responded...
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
63
Reaction score
5
****. Yeah, I knew I was within the Class C airspace, I'm just bummed that DJI caught up to that. But it's ridiculous that I can't even fly the sim when I'm home. Thanks for sharing the image!
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
277
Reaction score
103
Age
46
****. Yeah, I knew I was within the Class C airspace, I'm just bummed that DJI caught up to that. But it's ridiculous that I can't even fly the sim when I'm home. Thanks for sharing the image!
The good news though, you live in one of the most pristine and photogenic areas of the country.. I would love to be that close to that coastline and agricultural area with a phantom on a daily basis..

What a bummer though, that Pacific grove is still within the surface class C...

Is the P3 software restricted in Pacific Grove?
 
Joined
May 18, 2015
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Age
34
Hello, I'm new here and doing some research before buying a P3. I was under the impression that only Class A and B constituted no-fly zones? Per the DJI website:

http://www.dji.com/fly-safe/category-mc

Is this website not accurate? Is there a place where I can get detailed information on what consists of a no fly zone?
 
Joined
Apr 13, 2014
Messages
63
Reaction score
5
Yeah, interestingly, if you look at the no-fly zone list on DJI's site, my local airport isn't on the list. But it's on the map in the Pilot app.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
277
Reaction score
103
Age
46
DJIs classification IDs is not The same.

Probably because not all international airspace uses the same classification ID.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
277
Reaction score
103
Age
46
I'm gonna guess that DJI bases their "No fly zones" on all airspace that is restricted to any aircraft and operator that doesn't meet the requirements to operate in anything other than the FAAs class G
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,065
Messages
1,444,539
Members
101,832
Latest member
turqouiseshadows