FAA Contacted Me

Reaction score
Hello,

I have enjoyed this site for a while now and I have gotten lots of answers without needing to create an account. I joined today to say that the FAA contacted me recently about flying in a restricted area. I am a part 107 pilot and I fly commercially. They contacted me because I was flying in class B airspace about 2 miles away from an airport. I did not submit a flight plan on the FAA site because my client urgently needed footage done and there was no time. Figuring that plenty of commercial pilots do this, I went ahead and did the flight. The FAA contacted me because someone saw a video I did and tried to fly in the same area. The submitted a flight plan and got rejected so they reported me. I am dealing with the "slap on the hand" from them at the moment, but I was curious. Is there anyone here who actually makes a living flying commercially and submits every single flight plan to the FAA before flying? Sometimes it is completely unreasonable time-wise. The FAA suggests allowing up to SIX MONTHS to get approved for a flight. That is way too long a time. Is there any way I can streamline this process to a couple of days?

I would love it if anyone could help me.

Thank you,

FS

If you value your 107 certification, you better not break the rules intentionally. You knew it was a violation when your flew, that's a good way to lose the 107.

The future is bright for a quicker system using the new FAA LAANC system. It's got a way to go, but the intention is good.

Thank you for the link John. I do value my part 107 certification. I was typing out of knowledge gained post FAA contact. When I flew, I did not realize I was doing anything wrong (long story.) If you do make your living flying drones, what is your process for scheduling?

Thanks,

FS

Reactions: embayweather