Does your phone freeze when flying?

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new to drones. I just got my first ever drone, the Phantom 3 Standard, yesterday. I have a Samsung Galaxy S6, and I just took my drone out for its 3rd flight.

I decided to try one of the intelligent flight modes, and had it on "point of interest." It was circling, and I saw what it did, so it was time to stop. My phone froze and totally became unusable. At that point, I had no way to safely bring the drone down. My brother bailed me out with his iPhone 6s and I used the app on his phone. Is this normal when flying? It was a bit concerning.

This is only my 3rd flight, and this didn't happen the first 2 flights. I am definitely going to keep an eye on it over several more flights, but I just wanted to see what more experienced users have to say.

Thanks,
Christian

It does happen sometimes. What's your Android version, Go app version and your FW version ?

You don't need the app to safely land your P3S , toggle S1 back up to P-GPS to cancel F - Mode and land .GO APP version 3.1.5 seems to have problems with newer phones

You don't need the app to safely land your P3S , toggle S1 back up to P-GPS to cancel F - Mode and land .GO APP version 3.1.5 seems to have problems with newer phones

Thanks, super helpful to know! The remote worked perfectly, but I was panicking because had my brother not had his phone, I wouldn't know what to do. I feel much better about flying now.

It does happen sometimes. What's your Android version, Go app version and your FW version ?

Android 7.0 (April, 2017 security patch)
Go app version 3.1.5
FW version - I think it's the latest. I just updated it yesterday, but it keeps saying "battery update required" and I'm not sure what this means or what I need to do.

Is there a way to cancel return to home from the remote? Sorry for the noob question, I'm totally new to this.