DJI GO app disconnected but aircraft still flying

Reaction score
I've been happily flying my Phantom 3 standard for about 10 months now without any issues. I'm a very cautious pilot but today I have become concerned.

Taking off with battery at 98% and a controller showing 3 green leds, perfect weather conditions everything was looking great. I flew around an area I'm familiar with which had previously offered little in terms of interference. After about 17mins in the air, the DJI GO app on my Android Samsung Galaxy S6 disconnects and everything shows as grey.

The aircraft is around 100m - 150m away about 90m alt. I'm waiting for it to return thinking it must have lost signal but I could see it hovering for maybe 5 seconds or more. Fortunately as I can see it, I manage to orient it toward the home point and bring it home safely.

I'm guessing it didn't initiate a RTH as it had a signal. I have a few questions:

1. Any idea why the app remained disconnected even when the craft was brought home?
2. Should I have attempted a RTH using the controller hardware switch?
3. What steps could I take to solve this problem?

My flight log states:

Last Known Location: 51.680526,-0.537736
at log time of 17m 01s
and altitude of 312.7 ft

HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

Thank you

coder2012

You did not lose the connection with the P3. The controller was still connected to and controlling the P3. So RTH was not started. Your app simply stopped working.

You could have initiated the RTH, it's up to you. Personally, I would have just shut down the app and started it up again. It will most likely reconnect and you are good to go.

If the app does not continue to stop working, I'd not worry about it. If it happens a few times I'd delete the app and reinstall.

Reactions: coder2012