Compass Calibration

Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Age
76
Has anyone had difficulties in calibrating their compass on p3s drones? If so, do you have a fix or suggestions please.
 

Mark The Droner

Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
5,312
Reaction score
1,736
Suggestions: Don't have a lot of change in your pockets, or keys or cell phone. Make sure you're not near metal. Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
20
Reaction score
6
Age
76
Suggestions: Don't have a lot of change in your pockets, or keys or cell phone. Make sure you're not near metal. Hope this helps.
I’m using my iPhone attached to the controller, however it’s several feet away when I perform the procedure. The compass on the screen appears to be aiming in the right direction. I can fly the drone okay. The manual says you should calibrate when ever you go to a new location. During start up procedures the screen tells you you have a compass error, recalibrate.
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
30,595
Reaction score
10,032
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
The manual says you should calibrate when ever you go to a new location.
There's no need to calibrate the compass at each new location. See the Compass Calibration Guide for more details on when you should be calibrating the compass.

During start up procedures the screen tells you you have a compass error, recalibrate.
In most cases, that error message means the Phantom is near some type of magnetic metal object. Does the error message go away if you lift the Phantom off the ground or move to a different location?
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,567
Reaction score
7,650
Has anyone had difficulties in calibrating their compass on p3s drones? If so, do you have a fix or suggestions please.
As mentioned in post #4 and the manual, there should be no need to calibrate the Phantom's compass in normal conditions.
But if the difficulty you have is that there is a compass error message that won't go away because compass calibration always fails, you probably have a broken of disconnected compass.
The way to confirm is to go into the Sensors page in the app settings.
If it shows a number for the compass data, your compass is connected.
If it shows zero, either one of the fine wires to the compass is broken or the connection to the mainboard is not secured.
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2015
Messages
140
Reaction score
75
The other day i launched from the hood of my truck because of snow on the ground, not good.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
221
Reaction score
82
Age
56
The other day i launched from the hood of my truck because of snow on the ground, not good.
My question is my deck. (checking spelling)... I've been launching from my deck lately. Getting recal messages more often than before. Nails, braces and screws?
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2017
Messages
1,078
Reaction score
668
Location
New York
Take the drone to a location in your yard away from your deck, power it up there, and see if you still get a compass error message. That's happened to me if I simply turn mine on in the hatch of my car before I set it down to launch. I shut it down, power it up again away from the car, and it's all good.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JazzAir

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
30,595
Reaction score
10,032
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
I've been launching from my deck lately. Getting recal messages more often than before. Nails, braces and screws?
When that message displays, pick up your Phantom and hold it 4+ feet above the deck. Does the message go away? If so, then a magnetic metal source in the deck is interfering with the compass.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JazzAir and Meta4
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
221
Reaction score
82
Age
56
Take the drone to a location in your yard away from your deck, power it up there, and see if you still get a compass error message. That's happened to me if I simply turn mine on in the hatch of my car before I set it down to launch. I shut it down, power it up again away from the car, and it's all good.
That was it Sizz. Took a close look at what I've been doing since launching from deck. Meta hit it too. I was placing my bird down on the deck. Just over the top of a row of screws. That left the gimbal a half inch above one easily. Got my lazy asp off the deck and into the yard and got a Roger that from the lady that's in the thing when I recalibrated. Haven't heard her say that in a couple days. Thanks gang. Singer? Still owe you one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,091
Messages
1,387,833
Members
97,774
Latest member
Torbinrapid