Compass Calibration

Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
20
Likes
6
Age
76
#1
Has anyone had difficulties in calibrating their compass on p3s drones? If so, do you have a fix or suggestions please.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2015
Messages
5,312
Likes
1,732
#2
Suggestions: Don't have a lot of change in your pockets, or keys or cell phone. Make sure you're not near metal. Hope this helps.
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
20
Likes
6
Age
76
#3
Suggestions: Don't have a lot of change in your pockets, or keys or cell phone. Make sure you're not near metal. Hope this helps.
I’m using my iPhone attached to the controller, however it’s several feet away when I perform the procedure. The compass on the screen appears to be aiming in the right direction. I can fly the drone okay. The manual says you should calibrate when ever you go to a new location. During start up procedures the screen tells you you have a compass error, recalibrate.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
29,823
Likes
9,553
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
www.PhantomHelp.com
#4
The manual says you should calibrate when ever you go to a new location.
There's no need to calibrate the compass at each new location. See the Compass Calibration Guide for more details on when you should be calibrating the compass.

During start up procedures the screen tells you you have a compass error, recalibrate.
In most cases, that error message means the Phantom is near some type of magnetic metal object. Does the error message go away if you lift the Phantom off the ground or move to a different location?
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,055
Likes
7,203
#5
Has anyone had difficulties in calibrating their compass on p3s drones? If so, do you have a fix or suggestions please.
As mentioned in post #4 and the manual, there should be no need to calibrate the Phantom's compass in normal conditions.
But if the difficulty you have is that there is a compass error message that won't go away because compass calibration always fails, you probably have a broken of disconnected compass.
The way to confirm is to go into the Sensors page in the app settings.
If it shows a number for the compass data, your compass is connected.
If it shows zero, either one of the fine wires to the compass is broken or the connection to the mainboard is not secured.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
183
Likes
52
Age
56
#7
The other day i launched from the hood of my truck because of snow on the ground, not good.
My question is my deck. (checking spelling)... I've been launching from my deck lately. Getting recal messages more often than before. Nails, braces and screws?
 
Joined
Aug 19, 2017
Messages
1,079
Likes
667
Location
New York
#9
Take the drone to a location in your yard away from your deck, power it up there, and see if you still get a compass error message. That's happened to me if I simply turn mine on in the hatch of my car before I set it down to launch. I shut it down, power it up again away from the car, and it's all good.
 
Likes: JazzAir
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
29,823
Likes
9,553
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
www.PhantomHelp.com
#10
I've been launching from my deck lately. Getting recal messages more often than before. Nails, braces and screws?
When that message displays, pick up your Phantom and hold it 4+ feet above the deck. Does the message go away? If so, then a magnetic metal source in the deck is interfering with the compass.
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,055
Likes
7,203
#11
Nails, screws... I wouldn't think so. Brace? I suppose it's possible if it's big enough...
It doesn't have to be big.
The magnetic influence depends on size and distance.
A single nail can do it if it's close enough to the compass
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2017
Messages
183
Likes
52
Age
56
#13
Take the drone to a location in your yard away from your deck, power it up there, and see if you still get a compass error message. That's happened to me if I simply turn mine on in the hatch of my car before I set it down to launch. I shut it down, power it up again away from the car, and it's all good.
That was it Sizz. Took a close look at what I've been doing since launching from deck. Meta hit it too. I was placing my bird down on the deck. Just over the top of a row of screws. That left the gimbal a half inch above one easily. Got my lazy asp off the deck and into the yard and got a Roger that from the lady that's in the thing when I recalibrated. Haven't heard her say that in a couple days. Thanks gang. Singer? Still owe you one.
 
Likes: ianzone

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
130,222
Messages
1,351,479
Members
94,912
Latest member
Ivoryviking