Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Compass Calibration

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Charger69, Dec 18, 2017.

  1. Charger69

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Has anyone had difficulties in calibrating their compass on p3s drones? If so, do you have a fix or suggestions please.
     
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5,283
    Likes Received:
    1,726
    Suggestions: Don't have a lot of change in your pockets, or keys or cell phone. Make sure you're not near metal. Hope this helps.
     
  3. Charger69

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    I’m using my iPhone attached to the controller, however it’s several feet away when I perform the procedure. The compass on the screen appears to be aiming in the right direction. I can fly the drone okay. The manual says you should calibrate when ever you go to a new location. During start up procedures the screen tells you you have a compass error, recalibrate.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27,841
    Likes Received:
    8,654
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    There's no need to calibrate the compass at each new location. See the Compass Calibration Guide for more details on when you should be calibrating the compass.

    In most cases, that error message means the Phantom is near some type of magnetic metal object. Does the error message go away if you lift the Phantom off the ground or move to a different location?
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11,502
    Likes Received:
    5,941
    As mentioned in post #4 and the manual, there should be no need to calibrate the Phantom's compass in normal conditions.
    But if the difficulty you have is that there is a compass error message that won't go away because compass calibration always fails, you probably have a broken of disconnected compass.
    The way to confirm is to go into the Sensors page in the app settings.
    If it shows a number for the compass data, your compass is connected.
    If it shows zero, either one of the fine wires to the compass is broken or the connection to the mainboard is not secured.
     
  6. hit-n-run

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    74
    The other day i launched from the hood of my truck because of snow on the ground, not good.
     
  7. JazzAir

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    25
    My question is my deck. (checking spelling)... I've been launching from my deck lately. Getting recal messages more often than before. Nails, braces and screws?
     
  8. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    5,283
    Likes Received:
    1,726
  9. RunningWithScissors

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    14
    Take the drone to a location in your yard away from your deck, power it up there, and see if you still get a compass error message. That's happened to me if I simply turn mine on in the hatch of my car before I set it down to launch. I shut it down, power it up again away from the car, and it's all good.
     
    JazzAir likes this.
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27,841
    Likes Received:
    8,654
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    When that message displays, pick up your Phantom and hold it 4+ feet above the deck. Does the message go away? If so, then a magnetic metal source in the deck is interfering with the compass.
     
    JazzAir and Meta4 like this.
  11. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    11,502
    Likes Received:
    5,941
    It doesn't have to be big.
    The magnetic influence depends on size and distance.
    A single nail can do it if it's close enough to the compass
     
  12. Thermographer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Kentucky
    For what it is worth, I have a P3S that I have never calibrated the compass.
     
  13. JazzAir

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    25
    That was it Sizz. Took a close look at what I've been doing since launching from deck. Meta hit it too. I was placing my bird down on the deck. Just over the top of a row of screws. That left the gimbal a half inch above one easily. Got my lazy asp off the deck and into the yard and got a Roger that from the lady that's in the thing when I recalibrated. Haven't heard her say that in a couple days. Thanks gang. Singer? Still owe you one.
     
    ianzone likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - Compass Calibration Forum Date
compass calibration required constantly on screen Pro/Adv Discussion Jan 12, 2018
Confusion: Compass Calibration CrystalSky Monitors Jan 6, 2018
P4 Compass Calibration Error Phantom 4 Help Dec 7, 2017
Phantom 4 Compass Calibration General Discussion Nov 30, 2017
Phantom 4 Compass Calibration General Discussion Nov 17, 2017