Buying Phantom 4? (Newbie plz help)

Reaction score
Hello Phantom community! The past couple of days I have been researching Phantom drones to purchase. I am looking at the P3SE or the P4. I know the P4 has been discontinued and that is why I have a few questions. 1) Even though DJI discontinued the P4, will they continue to release software updates for it so it does not become completely obsolete? 2) If I do get a P4 what problems will I experience? 3) What would you guys do, get the P3SE or go staright for the P4 so I have obsticale avoidiance and active tracking to track? 4) The P4 does not have the option to purchase a Care Refresh plan but instead a "DJI Care" package. Can someone give me some insight to those plans. (P3SE can get both plans) Any help would be greatly appreciated! Fyi I am a new pilot to the whole drone thing:) Thank you.

Right now, based on the contempt DJI is showing to the Phantom 4 community, I'd recommend you look at devices from other manufacturers.

I won't be buying DJI again. Not unless something miraculous happens from DJI.

Right now, based on the contempt DJI is showing to the Phantom 4 community, I'd recommend you look at devices from other manufacturers.

I won't be buying DJI again. Not unless something miraculous happens from DJI.
What issues have you encountered and what other manufacturers do you think I should look at?

I have not encountered any problems with the latest P4 firmware update but did notice several instances where it was unclear on how to proceed with the update and I may have simply gotten lucky.
As far as deciding between the P4 and the P3SE, both are proven in the market. I have never flown in a manner that would ever require obstacle avoidance but everyone is different. If the camera resolutions are the same, and the flight times similar, go with the cheaper version.