Beginner phantom 3 crasher (pilot) advice on range extender

Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Age
42
Please can anyone advise me on the best range extender I can buy for my phantom 3 standard. I know about the magic power 5 thing but is it worth upgrading the control aerial. And and other upgrades I can do to get more out of my phantom 3 standard.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dirkclod

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,606
Reaction score
8,198
Age
65
Location
Amory Mississippi
I use itelite panels on all my WiFi phantoms and suit me well.and as Starz said a search will show you lots of other
options. Start in this section
and that will help.
Welcome to the forum.
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Age
42
I use itelite panels on all my WiFi phantoms and suit me well.and as Starz said a search will show you lots of other
options. Start in this section
and that will help.
Welcome to the forum.
Thanks very much I think using magic 5 will be helpful to I only found this out yesterday lol lot to learn
 
  • Like
Reactions: RodPad and dirkclod

captainmilehigh

Premium Pilot
Joined
Apr 4, 2016
Messages
1,692
Reaction score
1,322
Location
Northeast Florida
I use itelite panels on all my WiFi phantoms and suit me well.and as Starz said a search will show you lots of other
options. Start in this section
and that will help.
Welcome to the forum.
+1 on the Itelite panels for the R/C. Much better range and signal strength than the stock r/c. Many standard owners have good results with windsurfers too. Good luck !
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2019
Messages
57
Reaction score
33
Age
51
Welcome aboard! Hope you find the right range extender!
 
Joined
Nov 24, 2019
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Age
40
Location
Glasgow, Scotland
Please can anyone advise me on the best range extender I can buy for my phantom 3 standard. I know about the magic power 5 thing but is it worth upgrading the control aerial. And and other upgrades I can do to get more out of my phantom 3 standard.
My understanding of the magic power mod was that it only increases the video link signal and not range 🤔 Maybe I've got it wrong, I'll have to have another read. Link added.

 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,809
Reaction score
1,208
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Yep, just video.

You must have got a used P3S?
Before you jump in changing / modding things, do you have a distance problem now?

Rod
 
Joined
Oct 23, 2019
Messages
5
Reaction score
3
Age
42
Yeah I do it lost signal and has week signal alerts all the time. I have now fixed the problems but now I have another drama I have gimble overload warnings and when I turn it on it goes crazy. I have searched the net I have allied the shaft of the motor a common easy fix but it’s not that that is overloading the pitch motor is getting really hot I have replaced the ribbon. Please help
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2019
Messages
92
Reaction score
58
Age
57
Yeah I do it lost signal and has week signal alerts all the time. I have now fixed the problems but now I have another drama I have gimble overload warnings and when I turn it on it goes crazy. I have searched the net I have allied the shaft of the motor a common easy fix but it’s not that that is overloading the pitch motor is getting really hot I have replaced the ribbon. Please help
There can be several factors that come into play with signal lost;
1. surrounding terrain
2. other strong wifi interference (houses, business, power lines)
giving more detail information would allow several more experience people on here to offer more help. Nothing worse than throwing good money out the window.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,752
Messages
1,414,066
Members
99,400
Latest member
Robert S.