Any and all advice needed: DSLRPros Sundance Kit...

Reaction score
Hello!

I am a brand new owner of a DSLRPros Sundance kit with Zenmuse H3-3D and upgraded anti gravity motors that I received TODAY. I have never flown a quadcopter, in fact the only experience I have is a small heli I bought my 6 yr old for Christmas. I have spent the last couple of hours watching videos, reading supplied paperwork, etc. But being the absolute newb that I am, I am scared that I have missed something or may have done something wrong. Even though I can't wait for my 1st flight, I want to cover all of my bases and take my time.

If you have any advice I would really appreciate it. Thanks!

First flight? Go for a wide open park (emphasis on grass, not concrete; for obvious reasons) that is also nowhere near people nor water. :lol:

First, remove the gimbal and fly without it until you get comfortable.

But, after that, it sounds like you've done more research and prep than 80% of the Phantom pilots out there... so just trust yourself.

Take it out for your first flight. Make sure you do a compass calibration. And get a good GPS and home point lock. Then just take her up a few feet off the ground. Get a feel for it's responsiveness and stability. See how the GPS keeps it in place. Keep it in the air, low, for as long as you can stand it. Then land it, walk away for a few minutes, then repeat the process again and again, getting a little more adventurous each time.

Soon you'll have it at a hundred feet and flying like a pro.

Once you're comfortable, put the gimbal back on and start playing with photo and video.

Thank you for the responses. Some other questions I have:

What is the Jello effect and how do I correct it?
I have 5 total batteries for my Phantom, how long do they last and what is the best, fastest way to charge them?
It also came with the Futaba receiver and one battery, approximately how long will it's charge last?

Thanks!

OverheadAerial said: