A new firmware update is now available for Phantom 3

Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
1,060
Reaction score
309
Someone with the off horizon tell me if it fixes it after an IMU and gimbal calibration.

I won't be able to test until tonight if it's not raining.

I wish they would be more specific and list each item fixed instead of just noting "various fixes".
 
  • Like
Reactions: jlo
Joined
Dec 25, 2014
Messages
122
Reaction score
36
Age
49
Extra battery update was not needed for me, only needed to do initial update to Phantom and RC.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2014
Messages
12
Reaction score
5
Please note that after upgrading firmware, you will have to reset your specific preferences as it changed mine back to default. This includes braking, camera gimbal speed, height for return, turned back on Vision Positioning System.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2014
Messages
596
Reaction score
161
Location
Illinois
I love firmware update day!!! Makes me feel like all my family is together for the holidays AND they're all drunk and fighting.

Great stuff! I love you guys and gals...... Lmao!

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
 
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
3,013
Reaction score
522
I love firmware update day!!! Makes me feel like all my family is together for the holidays AND they're all drunk and fighting.

Great stuff! I love you guys and gals...... Lmao!

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

Group hug.:eek:
 
  • Like
Reactions: AmosMoses

ctp

Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
238
Reaction score
89
Location
Reston, VA
Please note that after upgrading firmware, you will have to reset your specific preferences as it changed mine back to default. This includes braking, camera gimbal speed, height for return, turned back on Vision Positioning System.
That's in my preflight checklist. Before every flight I walk through each configuration screen and verify settings are what I want for this flight. Takes less than a minute with practice and gives you something to do while the IMU is warming up.
 
D

DrewFlies

Guest
Guys, read the instructions carefully this time.

On the P3A you do not need to update the transmitter... BUT on the P3P, you will NEED to update the transmitter. P3A is code 1.2.7 P3P is code 1.2.6! Note the difference.

P3A - No need to updated transmitter
P3P - Code updates transmitter as well as your Phantom 3 Professional.
Makes no sense because it says it fixes distortion for non 4k videos. Why would it need to be updated for P3P and not P3A?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2014
Messages
103
Reaction score
22
Makes no sense because it says it fixes distortion for non 4k videos. Why would it need to be updated for P3P and not P3A?
Already commented on this later in the thread. It has been found that the update is for BOTH the Advanced and Professional RC.
 
Joined
May 15, 2015
Messages
501
Reaction score
213
Location
South Africa
Please note that after upgrading firmware, you will have to reset your specific preferences as it changed mine back to default. This includes braking, camera gimbal speed, height for return, turned back on Vision Positioning System.
I got caught out by that too. I went past my normal max altitude by about 100 feet before I realised it. Then while I was flying at around 350 feet up my battery warnings suddenly came on (at 30%), with the lady inside the app insisting that she wanted to land now!

Both can be quite disconcerting and a bit dangerous too.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2015
Messages
231
Reaction score
56
Are you guys recalibrating imu after this update?
Always do this. Gimbal to. Make sure to do it cold or you will have excessive warm up times. So after firmware update let it cool with the battery out first.
 
Joined
Jun 25, 2014
Messages
1,018
Reaction score
504
Age
71
Location
Pomona, IL
P3P and controller updated without issue. P3P took 20 minutes, Controller took less than 1 minute. Both txt files reported successes. Link remained solid. Both batteries inserted with .bin file in place but no documentation of any upgraded battery firmware reported.
Height Limit Reset
VPS Reset to ON
RTH Height Reset to default
Can't find Low Battery Fail Safe Mode (RTH or "Land here") The normal Control Signal Loss Fail safe is there just can't find the Low Battery fail safe.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2015
Messages
37
Reaction score
16
Age
38
I may have missed it scanning thru the posts... Getting my P3P hopefully soon, do I need to flash the previous firmware updates before this latest release? I'm guessing you can see your current firmware in the Pilot app? Thanks for helping out a noob!
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,461
Messages
1,411,310
Members
99,245
Latest member
blackpoint32