Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

1st time poster

Discussion in 'Standard' started by troubleuk, Jun 8, 2018.

  1. troubleuk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    hi all i am new here and would like a bit of advice i have a p3s with latest firmware and have the argtek range booster on it at the moment. now here is my problem i fly in a open field with no houses around i took it up to see what height i would get and distance so the height before loss of signal was around 200 ft before return to home kicked in and the distance was 1623 ft before it lost signal and came home so i decided that i would try and put the stock antenna on to see if that made a difference so my height with stock was 427 ft and distance was 4518 ft so i though ok not to bad but i seen p3s go alot further and alot higher so i downgraded my firmware to 1.8.10 on the aircraft the distance i managed was 6557 ft height was 520 ft before i lost all signal with the craft

    anybody with any ideas on what is going on
    i also have a powerbank on the back of my controller would this be effecting the aircraft in anyway

    thanks and please be gentle with me

    Sorry if I have posted in the wrong bit
     
    #1 troubleuk, Jun 8, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2018
  2. UpLift Aerial

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2017
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    284
    Location:
    New Brunswick, Canada
    Welcome to the PhantomPilots forum! :)

    Sorry I don't know much about range extenders. I wouldn't think the powerbank would affect it.
     
  3. LarBear360

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Irvine (Orange County) CA
    6557 feet is 1.2 miles, twice the distance a P3S is rated to fly. I know people with P3 Pro that lose signal at shorter distances.

    I don't see the problem other than your range extender installation was probably botched.
     
    RunningWithScissors likes this.
  4. troubleuk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Sorry that was my total distance that day will have to do another one and screenshot how far it goes before loses signal sorry new to all this
     
  5. troubleuk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok i did a distance test before I lost signal with the drone IMG_2257.jpg that’s the max distance achieved with the argtek mod

    Next is my altitude test
    IMG_2258.jpg

    I am not in beginner mode and my max altitude is set to 500 metres
     
  6. LeftHandFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Illinois
    Thats extremely odd. There ca
    m be many factors - fake Argtek mod, misplaced wires, defective wires, pinched wires, etc - but I installed mine yesterday and got a steady 4000-5000 feet of range.

    I would suggest opening the transmitter up and just rechecking the wires and if possible, re clicking the Argtek wires into place then hotglueing them thoroughly.
     
  7. troubleuk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Will check again tomorrow the wires but I know they are all connected good and tight will look for any pinched wires and also try another phone but can’t see it being the phone as it loses signal from the remote
     
    Droner66 likes this.
  8. LeftHandFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Illinois
    (Just to make sure you are pointing towards the drone right?)
     
  9. troubleuk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes pointing to the drone also when I go high I am right under the drone
     
  10. LarBear360

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Irvine (Orange County) CA
    535 feet altitude is more than enough. You should not exceed 400 feet. I'm surprised you didn't lose it as straight above you yields the weakest signal.
     
  11. troubleuk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am not in any flight path where I fly I am just saying the altitude is pretty poor to say that you can set the limit to 500 metres and compared that to my hubsan that would reach a 1000 foot easily without any mods
     
  12. LarBear360

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Irvine (Orange County) CA
    In the US any responsible pilot keeps it at 400 feet or less, regardless of flight paths. If you are located in the US, it would be a good idea to visit this page Unmanned Aircraft Systems.
     
  13. troubleuk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    I am from the uk pal
     
  14. LarBear360

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2017
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Irvine (Orange County) CA
  15. troubleuk

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes they have not brought in the laws as of yet they will do sometime this year and the reason people flying to close to airports and also trying to smuggle in drugs into prisons.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - 1st poster Forum Date
Questions from 1st time (about to be) drone user Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Jul 6, 2018
1st Drone / 1st Question Gimbal Pro/Adv Discussion May 1, 2018
What you need to know before 1st flight on your P3A drone? Pro/Adv Discussion Apr 26, 2018
Standard 1st time newby, tablet registration help Phantom 3 Help Mar 8, 2018
My 1st oh crap moment! Standard Mar 3, 2018