1st litchi mission

Reaction score
I planned to fly the bird after I got off work tonight. I'm a project manager and was working at a local science museum that we just opened. We are just about done with our scope and opportunities are slipping away so I brought the bird with me. Got out about 11pm and decided to go for it. Went out back to the park and set a Litchi waypoint mission knowing it would disconnect and then praying it would complet mission and return. I was sending her from one museum to another museum across water. It was 6200' round trip. I launched her and flew half a battery to just to make sure everything was good. Flew her around and took pics of top of museum, grounds, park etc... ( image at night sucks or at least on my tablet. I will have to download from SD card to see if better.)
Brought her down, swapped batteries and sent her up. Flipped s1 down, hit play and sent her on her way. As she rose up to its 1st waypoint height, and then turned towards its target, I thought about flicking that darn s1 switch back up.
But I didn't and I watched as she flew into the darkness of the large body of water and her red lights get smaller and smaller. To my surprise she went just over 2000' before it disconnected and video started cutting out. I was right on top of target but frozen video etc... it kept reconnecting and disconnecting till video started showing it starting its return home. And with every apearing bar of the controllers signal strength rising, my confidence in its return grew as well. That bit of anxiety or nervousness was lowering as the sound of the bird grew louder. There she was, hovering above me, patiently waiting for its next command.