Wow! Phantom 3 range is 3.2 miles (5.2km)!

Joined
Jan 24, 2014
Messages
243
Reaction score
7
Saw that and he was so lucky to get it back 1% battery left .
Very impressive distance with full video feed .
Makes me want to order one now but ill give it a few weeks and see what distances the european models do , not that i would be bothered if it was half this distance .
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2014
Messages
489
Reaction score
130
Obviously, if he would have taken control back, he would have landed with more battery. I wonder if there is a way to adjust RTH speed?
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
13,573
Reaction score
7,655
I wonder if there is a way to adjust RTH speed?
Just throw it into atti and zoom away.

This is a good illustration of why you should always fly upwind when going for distance ... that way it's faster/easier coming home which is definitely much better than the alternative.

19-20 m/s going out and 7 m/s coming home.
The difference 12 m/s = 27 mph.
Contrary to what the pilot thought, the upwind conditions are only responsible for a very small component of this.
The major factor is not wind but it's DJI's mysterious policy of making RTH considerably slower than normal flight.
If it had been blowing anything like 27 mph, you'd see wind waves everywhere on the water and many whitecaps.

This was a good spot for range testing ... but it would be goodbye Phantom if a recovery was required.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2014
Messages
243
Reaction score
7
Just throw it into atti and zoom away.

This is a good illustration of why you should always fly upwind when going for distance ... that way it's faster/easier coming home which is definitely much better than the alternative.

19-20 m/s going out and 7 m/s coming home.
The difference 12 m/s = 27 mph.
Contrary to what the pilot thought, the upwind conditions are only responsible for a very small component of this.
The major factor is not wind but it's DJI's mysterious policy of making RTH considerably slower than normal flight.
If it had been blowing anything like 27 mph, you'd see wind waves everywhere on the water and many whitecaps.

This was a good spot for range testing ... but it would be goodbye Phantom if a recovery was required.
Could think of better places to range test as you pointed out .A little planning first then at least you could recover the quad if you run out of battery.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
89
Reaction score
21
Age
69
Helipad is a brave soul. I will never dream of doing that with my new bird.
longest distance is always with open water.
Wonder any tests are available with other terrains.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2016
Messages
38
Reaction score
1
Age
49
How does anyone get over 2 miles . I have a p3a and only get 1/2 a mile?
 
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
1,484
Reaction score
384
Age
45
How does anyone get over 2 miles . I have a p3a and only get 1/2 a mile?
Same here. I am lucky if I get that. I use a windsurfer and get get almost a mile in the right conditions. But nowhere near the 3 miles advertised stock. I think the last update did something to the range, because it definitely reduced it somehow.
Side note, this is odd, but when i use my Android tablet, a Nvidia K1, I get a much farther range than with the ipad mini 4. About 2000 feet more. I tested this again yesterday, and sure enough, for some reason the K1 lets me fly farther than the ipad. same settings on both. Wifi off on both.
 
Joined
May 5, 2016
Messages
11
Reaction score
1
Age
20
I have a P3A and got 3.25 miles or 17200ft I could share it if you'd like!!Landed w/7%left That's as far as I go without a battery mod and being where Im at..

Altitude is increased to get over the mountain,as I come to them I increase!!
 
Joined
May 21, 2016
Messages
37
Reaction score
10
Location
SOCAL
Same here. I am lucky if I get that. I use a windsurfer and get get almost a mile in the right conditions. But nowhere near the 3 miles advertised stock. I think the last update did something to the range, because it definitely reduced it somehow.
Side note, this is odd, but when i use my Android tablet, a Nvidia K1, I get a much farther range than with the ipad mini 4. About 2000 feet more. I tested this again yesterday, and sure enough, for some reason the K1 lets me fly farther than the ipad. same settings on both. Wifi off on both.
HW, that's very curious! 2000' is a significant delta between devices. You'd have to think it's a RFI issue. Do you turn the radios off on the tablets, or just disable the WiFi? I'm asking since BT uses the same 2.4GHz band.
 
Joined
May 2, 2016
Messages
1,484
Reaction score
384
Age
45
HW, that's very curious! 2000' is a significant delta between devices. You'd have to think it's a RFI issue. Do you turn the radios off on the tablets, or just disable the WiFi? I'm asking since BT uses the same 2.4GHz band.
Yes, I have Bluetooth disabled and wifi off while flying.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2016
Messages
287
Reaction score
159
Age
53
Saw that and he was so lucky to get it back 1% battery left .
Very impressive distance with full video feed .
Makes me want to order one now but ill give it a few weeks and see what distances the european models do , not that i would be bothered if it was half this distance .
More than 2km (at 200 meters altitude) in an open rural area is my limit wih my out-of-the-box European P3A - I was starting to lose the video feed there so I flew home.

//Tom
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
1,355
Reaction score
495
Location
Brecon Beacons Wales UK
I reached 2.68 miles yesterday totally standard. RTH kicked in and I landed with 30% battery. No loss of signal could easily have gone further.
I have never updated running ancient firmware. Range used to be 10,000 feet or 1.68 miles max but swapped my controller for a 300B. I think the transmitters must vary a bit.
 
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
3,012
Reaction score
521
Done 4.5km each way completely stock set up, could have gone further but wanted a margin of safety on battery for return.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
134,146
Messages
1,388,291
Members
97,802
Latest member
Canfly