Why did you crash?

Reaction score
Been flying my P2V for a week now. I've been into RC for about 5 years, but this is my most expensive bird so far. I know we all crash at some point. But it's one thing to crash a $300 heli and totally different to crash or lose a $1,200 quad. Every time I head to a fly site, I think to myself, is this the last time I see my quad in one piece. So to help better the odds for all of us, I ask, Why did you crash? Let's put all of our experiences together and learn from each other. Maybe one tip helps others avoid the same fate.

Okay...I have some experience here! The one common denominator in my crashes (there have been several), has been trees. As much as they are my nemesis, I can't help but fly around them as I have so many around my house! That said, I've been fortunate enough to not have any super-expensive repairs as a result of some pretty violent crashes.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-Tg9ZkVVzAg[/youtube]

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MlFyBMyg3LI[/youtube]

I've actually done most of my flying over a frozen lake, which while cold, was ideal for unobstructed flying. I did have a near crash over the ice. This happened immediately after doing a quick pass in ATTI mode, coming to a stop and decending. I think this is the "ring vortex state" or something, but whatever the case, it was wobbling and falling and I had no control until it leveled off about a foot off the ice and I gassed it.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sw4Ej41niO8[/youtube]

I've flown mine 3 days and 3 crashes, although "crash" is too strong of a term. People would have walked away from all of them, but there would have been some serious injuries on one.

1. Doh. Tried to ops check it with a short, low hover after firmware upgrades. INSIDE. Got just about 2 inches high when it took a 90 right into the wall. Two props down.