Who is right here?

Reaction score
Hello All
I'm a newbie here. P4P+ flyer which I have had since Feb and about to do my CAA PfCO course.

So.... I have been out improving my flying skills, making use of a piece of land close to my home in Surrey (UK).

The land is owned by the military, however it is open for use to the public for - as the board listing the byelaws on site say - outdoor recreational use. It is often used by dog walkers, runners, cyclists and so on. There is NO mention in the byelaws about the prohibition of the use of drones (or model aircraft).

As I have no desire to have my drone confiscated and being a generally good citizen I have always complied with the drone code, keeping 50/150m from people property and all that jazz. Additionally, on occasion where I have had people approach too close, I have landed the drone and waited until the area was clear again etc etc.

So far so good, right?

The land IS reasonably close to Farnborough airport and not too far from Odiham helicopter base but crucially where I fly is OUTSIDE the ATZ for both airports. I have checked the maps and it is not restricted or controlled airspace under any definition I can find.

The area IS in a region where military helicopters could fly at low altitude (down to 50m), but I would be fairly sure that should military craft carry out such operations they would have to issue a NOTAM not least because the airspace they would use to do this would conflict with civilian use from Farnborough airport.

I check NOTAMS - Again, no mention of any issues, so on a sunny day like today, keeping within the letter of the code and the local byelaws - I'm OK to fly, right?

I'm happily carrying out some manoeuvres and working in my technique and up pops a military guy - essentially the park ranger for this area - very friendly, but very firmly tells me that on no account can I fly here... Ever.