Using a gimbal without fpv wifi

Reaction score
OK, I'm new at this so I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question. I don't have a smart phone but I want to use a gimbal for horizontal stability. Since I won't be able to view the tilt angle I would like to leave it at a fixed position so the horizon is in the middle of frame. Can I preset the tilt so it stays fixed and use that way?

Woody said:
OK, I'm new at this so I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question. I don't have a smart phone but I want to use a gimbal for horizontal stability. Since I won't be able to view the tilt angle I would like to leave it at a fixed position so the horizon is in the middle of frame. Can I preset the tilt so it stays fixed and use that way?
The Feiyu-tech gimbal has two buttons on the board that let you preset the tilt angle before flight. You do not need to wire up anything else, changes Naza settings or modify your transmitter.

You can set the static position of the gimbal in the Naza Flight assistant software, alternatively you can fit the lever to your TX as already mentioned, this applies to the Zenmuse and third party gimbals but assumes you have the gimbal connected to the
Flight Controller.

Most third party gimbals use the Alexmos/Martinez control boards and have a function button which permits some basic manipulation, these functions need to be assigned via the corresponding gimbal software i.e SimpleBGC or BruGi dependant on what firmware you have installed.

Regards

Nidge

Thank you all for the quick reply. :D

OK, now I understand more about it after doing some research. The Phantom 2 isn't wifi app compatible anyway because the transmitter's operating frequency is the same as the gopro and vision wifi frequency 2.4 GHz. Only the FC40 and Vision can use the camera app because they both use 5.8 GHz for the flight controller.