Update problem, HELP!

Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Just finished updating the new firmware. I had put in a new sd card in a couple days before. I formatted the card. Now when I go to the DJI go app it does not recognize the phantom 4 and it's as if all the information and setting were erased. Did I screw up by formatting the SD card or could it have been the update? HELP!
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Update. Since the firmware update ate up some battery time, I decided to recharge the battery since I was probably going to need it to try fixing the problem. After it charged I decided to try it one more time to completely diagnose the problem. From what I could tell, everything was working again, huh? Did it just need some time without the battery to reset? Now I'm afraid to fly it, I was going to be filming a bunch of our kids on a easter egg hunt. Any thoughts?
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,348
Reaction score
10,480
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
Did you restart your Phantom and DJI GO after installing the firmware? If not, that might have caused the problem. I saw a few other people run into the same problem before restarting.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2016
Messages
558
Reaction score
114
Age
51
Oh dear another firmware upgrade nightmare, seems updating is pointless


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,348
Reaction score
10,480
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com

Drone Master

DJI Tech And Advisor
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jun 11, 2015
Messages
642
Reaction score
177
Age
55
Location
South FL, US
Oh dear another firmware upgrade nightmare, seems updating is pointless


Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
Oh! Behave! I love threads like this! I was looking for more! o_O
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2016
Messages
4
Reaction score
1
Age
46
Did you restart your Phantom and DJI GO after installing the firmware? If not, that might have caused the problem. I saw a few other people run into the same problem before restarting.
I did and still no image from the camera. It wasn't until I removed the camera, charged it and reinstalled it that it worked. Not sure if by removing the battery for a period of time would reset something or not. So far the drone has been very good. I have not pushed any limits or tested all the features yet, but I have noticed a couple of things. 1. The gimbal every once in a while will make a squeak sound. 2. There is a strange +-5' altitude drop sometimes while in GPS mode. 3. Screen interference on occasion while less than 50 yards away. 4. I have also noticed since the update landings are a little less stable. It seems like the quad has to much power applied when the full down stick is applied for shut off. It has almost tipped several times on shutdown even though both landing skid are firmly on level ground.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,027
Messages
1,444,221
Members
101,791
Latest member
Aircattgetem1