Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

1. Basspig

I've been going over the entire flight procedure with my wife, who will be using this P4P v2.0 in the Philippines in August.

The one thing she has not been able to do is remove the battery for charging. She simply can't exert enough squeeze on the top/bottom buttons to release the battery. My daughter tried it and she can't do it either. For me, even with arthritis, it is easy. But I'm a body builder and have strong hands.

So the question is, how can she remove the battery after a flight? Is there a tool or aid that those with less hand strength can use to assist in removing the battery? This is a real problem for her if she cannot change batteries while on this trip.

2. ryantrax

Approved Vendor

Instead of doing a squeezing motion try pushing on the top pressure point until it un-clicks the pull up on the bottom pressure point until it un-clicks then slide it out.

RunningWithScissors likes this.
  3. WetDog

Yeah, they really clamped it on this time. From top and bottom. A pair of welding vice grips with some sort of attachment to keep the plates from sliding off (VHB tape? Double sided tape? Sugru-type stuff?

It IS a design deficiency. I'm pretty strong and have problems getting the battery out on occasion. My wife would never be able to do it.

IMG_6601.JPG

Edit: Another approach might be to build up the press tab area by using Sugru or similar so that the operator's opposing fingers would not start out about half way compressed. You lose quite a bit of mechanical advantage from starting half open.

Nesher, Loz and Ripper7620 like this.
  4. dirkclod

dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

Not a 4 but have seen some remove them like this .maybe be of help .

Phantom 4 Adventures likes this.
  5. Weston Ney Photography

The P4P V2.0 has a better battery click system to keep it from disconnecting, a notorious problem for the P4s. They might have done too good a job IMO.

6. Basspig