UAV Insurance Poll

How Much Would You be Willing to Pay for Hobbyist UAV Insurance Annually?

• $50

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • $75

• $100

Votes: 2 100.0%
  • $200

• More than $200

• Total voters
Reaction score
Hello,

I am an aviation insurance broker that specializes in commercial UAV insurance. However, I am attempting to sway the insurance companies that I work with to offer an insurance policy for hobby/recreational flyers (currently they only offer policies for commercial use). For those of you who fly for recreation, how much would you be willing to pay annually for a quality insurance policy specifically designed for UAVs? These policies would include liability, hull, and possibly payload coverage. I am just trying to get a feel for the size of the potential market.

I feel that this would be a very good offering for our hobby. The last thing we need is for a hobbyist UAV to cause a serious accident with no insurance coverage.

Also, if you have any input on this matter, please feel free to shout it out.

Thanks,

Joe Ernster
[email protected]
Get an Online Commercial UAS Insurance Quote Now!

I would pay around $100-150 a year for liability and hull but there would need to be a criteria set out so users know what they're getting. Here's a few that springs to mind:

- Would need to specify exactly what counts as "hobby/recreational" I.e. if I was shooting for my YouTube channel would they consider this commercial even if my channel isn't primarily drone footage
- Would they try to avoid paying out like car companies? Obviously if a drone takes a helicopter out next to an airport they're not going to pay but if I'm flying in the park and NOT in a no fly zone and it clips a power line and falls on someone helping you film would they pay out or say "you shouldn't have been flying anywhere near people"