Trusting My Phantom

Reaction score
I'm new at this, maybe only a month in but I get a little nervous when my drone is out of my line of sight. Is this normal?

Not at all! It's not a cheap gadget to send somewhere that you can't see it!! Read, practice and read and practice some more and your comfort will grow as your nervousness fades!

EDIT: Sorry, I think you can tell by the rest of my post that my intention was to say it not at all "ABNORMAL"... it's perfectly normal to feel nervousness!

Last edited:
I fly beyond LOS most of the time due to the area where I live, and I'm not fussed at all. As jwmcgrath stated, read and practice, particularly the use of RTH. I use it fairly regularly, and you will too at some stage.

I don't think he's experienced signal loss due to distance yet, only loss of not being able to see it such as behind a tree, 500 feet or more away and blinked, etc. I'm getting used to FPV myself even during bright days as I've found shady spots I can plant myself where I can reasonably see the screen.
Now losing LOS and signal, THATS nerve racking. But losing sight but still have signal? Yeah I was nervous initially as I was used to flying a Syma where LOS was necessary and constant attention to the controls. With the Phantom, you can let go of the controls and think it through for a few seconds. Only issue might be if you are really close to something where GPS drift or inertia will cause trouble.

I don't think he's experienced signal loss due to distance yet, only loss of not being able to see it such as behind a tree, 500 feet or more away and blinked, etc. I'm getting used to FPV myself even during bright days as I've found shady spots I can plant myself where I can reasonably see the screen.