Should I update?

Reaction score
Hi all

Any words of wisdom will be appreciated.

I have P3P and i'm still running.

App 3.1.28
Aircraft 1.9.60
Remote 1.6.0

Simply I havent any problems but I am well aware that it's all outdate, I'm cautious of upgrading due to reading about problems people have had. Should I upgraded or is it a case of if its not broken don't fix it?

Regards

Neil

Updates are optional. However, I like to update to the latest firmware after it's known to be stable so I'm able to take advantage of the latest features and fixes (including undocumented fixes). You can see the changes DJI shared in the release notes here.

If you decide to update the firmware, you can find detailed Phantom 3 firmware installation instructions here.

Neil,
I am new to the Phantom family and was also worried about updating my drone. I flew it for a week or so right out of the box and then decided to update based on forum inputs from fine folks like Msinger and Oso.

After updating(4 days ago) I took it out and let it hover, did some close flying around my house before landing and loading a waypoint mission. Everything worked great. You have to recalibrate your bird and I had to re-pair my controller after updating it too.

All and all, just follow the steps and you will be fine!

I think the number of sucessful updates vs fails is highly in favour of success.

I have latest everything with my P3P / Android / Controller and only glitch was the black screen video / no maps one day ... since then all fine.

My biggest advice to anyone who decides to update :

1. Decide why you want to update.
2. Plan the action before starting.
3. Make sure you have manual handy in case of re-linking etc.

The secret I believe is planning and execution in proper and organised sequence. It is not an exercise to enter into with half info.

Final comment : Have I noticed any advantage since updating ? Actually No !

Nigel

Reactions: Neon Euc