Rookie mistake, fly away

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to flying, only a couple dozen flights. On vacation last week, went to a clearing of trees at a campground to raise the P3S vertically to catch the sunset. Wasn't planning on flying anywhere except 400 feet straight up. I got in too much of a hurry as the sun was setting quickly and I raised it before it had a GPS signal. A strong wind current suddenly came in and started blowing it quickly away from me and toward a tree line, I lost orientation and only had a few short seconds to react so I pegged the left stick up to try and clear the trees which were about 80 feet tall. It cleared the trees and then disappeared from view, and within a few short moments after that the RC lost contact, turned red, and the bird was completely gone. I couldn't see or hear anything at that point. I stood for a few seconds in disbelief, and then ran quickly up the road roughly 150 feet into another open area and the RC suddenly picked up signal and FPV display. Apparently it had drifted about 350-400 feet away before it was able to lock on to GPS signal and then just hovered in the sky at a fixed position. I engaged home lock and brought it back to me and safely landed it. A warning to other newbies out there, take your time and make sure to let it sit for 20-30 seconds after liftoff to make sure you are definitely green and "safe to fly".