Returning Home

Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Age
27
Location
Leicester UK
Hi all I just want to ask has anyone ever came across a problem when you lose signal and it automatically returns home but instead of coming down it decides to go up? It has happened twice to me now.
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2020
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Age
27
Location
Leicester UK
Are you referring to the specified RTH height?
No I have return home set to 30m but what happened is I lost signal and the drone decided to go 500m instead of 30 for some reason then about about 2 minutes it then comes down to automatically land itself. It doesn't go out it just goes straight up, very confusing, and it will not let me cancel the return home to stop it going up
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
817
Age
54
Location
Canada
I've never heard of this. The only reason it should go straight up to max altitude is the left stick is held up. Make certain your default RTH altitude is actually 30m and not 500m and try recalibrating the RC.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,743
Reaction score
8,741
No I have return home set to 30m but what happened is I lost signal and the drone decided to go 500m instead of 30 for some reason then about about 2 minutes it then comes down to automatically land itself. It doesn't go out it just goes straight up, very confusing, and it will not let me cancel the return home to stop it going up
There are a couple of possible explanations that I can think of.
Your recorded flight data will confirm the reason for it.

Go to DJI Flight Log Viewer | Phantom Help
Follow the instructions there to upload your flight record from your phone or tablet.
That will give you a detailed report of the flight.
Come back and post a link to the report it provides and someone might be able to analyse it and give you an understanding of the cause of the incident.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
Jun 19, 2019
Messages
80
Reaction score
38
Age
62
Location
Maine
My drone has been doing the same thing? It returned home and went 650 feet high.
I don’t get it.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
452
Reaction score
202
Age
50
Meta which file from the output of phantomhelp are you looking in for the RTH height please?
If csv-verbose what column number is it please? I can see a few columns there that seem to be about the rth but can't find one that seems to give the actual height.
Column 65 (BM) for me in the output of Datcon.
 
Last edited:

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,743
Reaction score
8,741
Meta which file from the output of phantomhelp are you looking in for the RTH height please?
If csv-verbose what column number is it please? I can see a few columns there that seem to be about the rth but can't find one that seems to give the actual height.
It's usually right there on the main page of the Phantomhelp log viewer when the home point is recorded (except for the Mavic Mini).
But if you want to look in the Verbose CSV file, go to GW where you'll find HOME.goHomeHeight [m]
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
452
Reaction score
202
Age
50
"it's usually right there on the main page of the Phantomhelp log viewer when the home point is recorded " ooops, but by way of explanation I don't normally look there lol.
With regards to column GW, thank you
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
1,176
Reaction score
693
No I have return home set to 30m but what happened is I lost signal and the drone decided to go 500m instead of 30 for some reason then about about 2 minutes it then comes down to automatically land itself. It doesn't go out it just goes straight up, very confusing, and it will not let me cancel the return home to stop it going up

Was it really 500m or maybe 500feet. It is unbelievable that it went to 500m. Almost through the clouds if there were any.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2018
Messages
1,373
Reaction score
817
Age
54
Location
Canada
Was it really 500m or maybe 500feet. It is unbelievable that it went to 500m. Almost through the clouds if there were any.
Ya sounds really odd. Would take some time to climb that high (I'm guessing, I've never done it). And odd that he couldn't take control manually. It's a mystery to me!
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
653
Reaction score
221
Age
38
the drone decided to go 500m instead of 30 for some reason
wow i wonder what kind of wind there was at "500m"
hope he's not one of those one post and then ghosts us cause i'd like 2 see the log.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,503
Messages
1,448,283
Members
102,292
Latest member
News1st