Replace motors on a Phantom 3 SE

Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
75
Reaction score
15
Age
55
Has anyone changed the motors on their Phantom 3 SE?

I am debating on getting a new Phantom 4 Pro V2 or repair of my Phantom 3 SE.

Trade in is 125.00 but it depends on the repair cost. What do you think?
Repair motors or trade up?
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2016
Messages
1,385
Reaction score
727
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Any p4 pro would be a certain upgrade. V2? The V1 isn’t that much different and a bit cheaper to buy.
 

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,975
Reaction score
8,693
Age
65
Location
Amory Mississippi
How much do you fly..do you like to tear into things just
for the satisfaction of fixing something . I do and have been
in many. Can you solder or were you going to have someone
else do it.
If you fly a lot and have the money trade up.
125.00 is more than you would get selling it if it won’t fly.
Course you could part it out maybe and get more but is your
time worth it.
Me...if I had been flying it for awhile and was comfortable
with my flying skills I would trade up.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
75
Reaction score
15
Age
55
Yes I can solder but I have not done it for a while.
It depends on the cost of repair if I will upgrade.
How much do you fly..do you like to tear into things just
for the satisfaction of fixing something . I do and have been
in many. Can you solder or were you going to have someone
else do it.
If you fly a lot and have the money trade up.
125.00 is more than you would get selling it if it won’t fly.
Course you could part it out maybe and get more but is your
time worth it.
Me...if I had been flying it for awhile and was comfortable
with my flying skills I would trade up.
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
1,573
Reaction score
1,220
Age
68
Location
IRB, Fl
What is wrong that you're going to replace all the motors? They are one of the less expensive parts to replace but if you need any boards the price will go up a lot.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
13
Age
67
Location
Walsall, UK
Trying to solder the cables on the motors is a pain, DJI put a coating on the cables that is nearly impossible to remove. You can try to get rid of the coating by filing the ends of the cables until they're shiney and bright, but it'll take you hours! Sorry!
 

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
599
Reaction score
458
Age
57
Location
Homer,Alaska
New motors are already prepped to solder onto the board,,,Easy to do.
Be careful buying used motors. If you do,check to see if the seller has a return policy. And make sure that the wires were not cut off of the board.
And as Capt KO asked,, why do you have the need to replace the motors?
 
  • Like
Reactions: MotorCycle-Man
Joined
Dec 4, 2018
Messages
75
Reaction score
15
Age
55
I damaged one of the motors wheñ my drone got disconnected from my remote controller and it was landing in a tree. And could not recover but it was able to land on the ground.
New motors are already prepped to solder onto the board,,,Easy to do.
Be careful buying used motors. If you do,check to see if the seller has a return policy. And make sure that the wires were not cut off of the board.
And as Capt KO asked,, why do you have the need to replace the motors?
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2016
Messages
813
Reaction score
445
Maybe it would be enough to replace only that one. Certanly it would be cheaper and less time consuming.
 
  • Like
Reactions: MotorCycle-Man
Joined
Jul 2, 2019
Messages
444
Reaction score
198
Age
49
Are you certain it is the motor that is damaged? If relevant are there any error messages, if so what are they?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
138,484
Messages
1,430,004
Members
100,503
Latest member
Barro