Range extender for Phantom 3 standard

Joined
Oct 21, 2017
Messages
103
Reaction score
27
Hii guys , any one using a range extender?suggest me a best range extender for Phantom 3 standard. Both signal and WiFi range. Thank you for your time.
 
Joined
Oct 31, 2014
Messages
2,083
Reaction score
365
Age
50
Location
Manchester UK
There are 2 types on the market, the Argtek and the Itelite, both require the TX to be opened and wiring added.
Both are proven to give better signal strength.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sajindra

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
15,036
Reaction score
8,773
Age
65
Location
Amory Mississippi
My opinion of the 2 FWIW.
IMG_9267.JPG
 
  • Like
Reactions: sajindra
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
2,187
Reaction score
1,145
Location
Irvine (Orange County) CA
Hii guys , any one using a range extender?suggest me a best range extender for Phantom 3 standard. Both signal and WiFi range. Thank you for your time.
I went with the Itelite DBS. About $35 more than the ARGtek. I've yet to test the range as I never fly further than line of sight. I only installed to beef up my signal, which it has. Yesterday I left the AC on the ground in the back yard. Carried the RC with me to the front of the house then down the street. I still had a signal despite the buildings and wi-fi.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2017
Messages
563
Reaction score
234
Age
54
Are they both about the same to install dificulty wise and time wise
yes both installs are basically the same as far as wiring goes but the DBS will require you drill some holes to mount the cabling connecters or find someone to 3D print an argtek style mounting base. Both are IMO easy to install But DBS would be my first choice for good distance
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
2,187
Reaction score
1,145
Location
Irvine (Orange County) CA
yes both installs are basically the same as far as wiring goes but the DBS will require you drill some holes to mount the cabling connectors or find someone to 3D print an argtek style mounting base. Both are IMO easy to install But DBS would be my first choice for good distance
Drilling was easy. Just go slow and start small and re-size until the holes are just right. I don't remember the exact size of the bit that worked, but it was common. There are several installation videos on YouTube. It looked scary so I purchased a second controller just in case I messed it up. Turned out it was easier than I expected. Just take it easy when removing all the silicone, glue, whatever it is around the connections.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2017
Messages
60
Reaction score
17
Age
52
I had significant increase of distance with the Argtek. Installation was pretty simple.
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2017
Messages
40
Reaction score
33
Age
45
I’ve had the Dbs mod now for about six months and have nothing bad to say about it. Easy install and I have quadrupled my range. It’s well worth the $.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mark The Droner
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
280
Reaction score
96
Age
30
DBS is way legit!

I have a spare P3S controller already wired for it if anyone’s interested.

 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
138,802
Messages
1,432,883
Members
100,769
Latest member
roger0011