Propeller guards

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a newbie drone pilot and should take delivery of my P3A tomorrow (Like a kid waiting for Christmas morning again!). I have seen some P3s with propeller guards and wondered how effective these really are and are they recommended for new pilots please?

I also wondered whether the negatively impact on the flight of the drone with the extra weight (albeit very small) and the string that goes around them.

Many thanks in anticipation.

I have prop guards too. But not no strings up. Strings r nice to help keeping the branches of the trees from getting behind or snagging the side of the prop guards. It's good if u live in the area, or filming in a area, where there is a lot of trees. I have just got them for myself, flew with them a few times, but don't have that many hours with them, or consider not an experience with them. Maybe someone can give us his/her opinion.

Guards do make for a safer flight near the ground, especially for new pilots. The added weight (around 4 oz.) does reduce flying time although not by much. More of an issue is the wind resistance they create. But for close and low fights they do help by protecting your expensive baby. Even a brush with a branch or other object could bring the drone down and ruin your day and your drone. I use removable guards so when I'm flying farther out and high, it doesn't have the weight or wind resistance of the guards. When It's low and around/through objects it has the added protection needed.

Reactions: charlieb4
Hi All,

I am a newbie drone pilot and should take delivery of my P3A tomorrow (Like a kid waiting for Christmas morning again!). I have seen some P3s with propeller guards and wondered how effective these really are and are they recommended for new pilots please?

I also wondered whether the negatively impact on the flight of the drone with the extra weight (albeit very small) and the string that goes around them.