Phantom 4 Pro hits bunker air vent.

Yt2

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I had my first accident today after some strange things happened. I believe I am a competent pilot, so I am looking to the experience of the group to see if it was pilot error or not.

• I charged two battery's in my DJI charging hub and noticed that one battery charged for a bit then it started charging the second battery. It started charging the first battery again once the second battery was full.
  • I could not fly the same day, and naughty, I flew today. I only wanted to do a few small flights as I had been having issues with Dronelogbook and battery reporting. I realise that you should always fly with freshly charged batteries.
  • I put the battery in the P4 that had issues charging and auto took off. It only remained in the air for about 5 seconds and started landing with all led's blinking Red. I removed and replaced the battery again and shut down A/C and controller, but the same thing happened again.
  • I swapped batteries and fired up everything, when the bird started shaking on the ground with the props in idle. Shut down everything again and restarted and all was good.
  • I decided to fly in ATTI mode to keep my skills up and headed towards an old ammo bunker with 4 air vents sticking up above the roof my about 1.5 metres. These air vents are about 2.5 meters apart. The whole roof is made of metal, as are the vents. Correct me if I am wrong, but I believed if I was in ATTI mode, I would not have compass errors. Is that correct?
  • As I was going to be flying between the vents I made an altitude adjustment to get higher above the roof, just before the vents, then when I thought I was past the vents, I made a right hand turn, and to my amazement, the bird bounced off the vent with a sicking thud, and took off. I gained control and brought the bird home and landed.