Phantom 3 camera completely dead

Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Age
31
So i was having issues with my gimbal on my Phantom 3 Standard disconnecting while in flight - I could land and then reconnect it and take back off but it would continually disconnect.

So, I decided to replace the camera ribbon cable on it, and see if that was the problem. I installed the new ribbon cable and it was completely dead now, nothing at all happening when I power on drone.

I replaced the ribbon cable again, just in case it was a bad ribbon cable and I still have absolutely nothing.

Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot where the issue is with a completely dead camera?


When I power on the drone nothing moves on the camera at all. The little light on the front of the camera box does flash red every 5-10 seconds or so, but beyond that I have nothing at all.

Are there components I can test with a tool to check for power etc.?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Also - I did the basic checks of "Is it plugged in" etc. etc.


Thanks!

Andrew
IMG_2994.jpeg
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Age
31
Is it possible that I just bought the gimbal cable (part 85) from a bad seller? I had him send me a 2nd and both are doing the same thing. Would a bad gimbal cable make the camera not move at all?
 

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,539
Reaction score
3,425
Location
Western US
So i was having issues with my gimbal on my Phantom 3 Standard disconnecting while in flight - I could land and then reconnect it and take back off but it would continually disconnect.

So, I decided to replace the camera ribbon cable on it, and see if that was the problem. I installed the new ribbon cable and it was completely dead now, nothing at all happening when I power on drone.

I replaced the ribbon cable again, just in case it was a bad ribbon cable and I still have absolutely nothing.

Any suggestions on how to troubleshoot where the issue is with a completely dead camera?


When I power on the drone nothing moves on the camera at all. The little light on the front of the camera box does flash red every 5-10 seconds or so, but beyond that I have nothing at all.

Are there components I can test with a tool to check for power etc.?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Also - I did the basic checks of "Is it plugged in" etc. etc.


Thanks!

Andrew View attachment 106898
We have seen very many people report here that non OEM ribbon cables have not worked for them, and all was fine once they switched to an OEM ribbon cable. Were the replacmeents you bought OEM cables or aftermarket knock offs? Do you still have your original OEM ribbon cable to put back on to see if things look normal again?

Also, what led you to believe that replacing this cable would cure disconnects?
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoBe
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
859
Reaction score
325
Age
59
The red light on the gimbal comes on when there is no sd card inserted, and i was reading about one operater who was having control issues with his camera, he formated , reinserted sd card and restarted drone and the camera worked perfectly...worth a try.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoBe and ianzone
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Age
31
We have seen very many people report here that non OEM ribbon cables have not worked for them, and all was fine once they switched to an OEM ribbon cable. Were the replacmeents you bought OEM cables or aftermarket knock offs? Do you still have your original OEM ribbon cable to put back on to see if things look normal again?

Also, what led you to believe that replacing this cable would cure disconnects?
Thanks for the reply....

So my original problem was that in mid flight the camera (which was working perfect) would do the wiggly thing and shut off (you know the wiggle in circles when it starts up). I looked around and many people felt it was due to the ribbon cable either being faulty or not connected correctly.

I replaced it with a NON-OEM cable...


Are there any recommendations on where to get a OEM part 85 cable? I could give that a shot but there seems to be very few good places to get one that isn't a million dollars.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoBe
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
1,547
Reaction score
1,329
Age
76
Location
North East Kansas
I see that you don't have the gimbal shock pins installed YET....you need to slip 4 small nylon ties in the holes and not use the gimbal pins...in a hard landing with the pins the camera assembly it will break loose and RIP out the ribbon cable.....and down time ....as you LOOK for a oem ribbon cable....I tryed a " el cheapo " too and i had same issue as you are.....THEN i replaced it with a Dji OEM and i was back in the air again ! "Good Luck" !
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Age
31
I see that you don't have the gimbal shock pins installed YET....you need to slip 4 small nylon ties in the holes and not use the gimbal pins...in a hard landing with the pins the camera assembly it will break loose and RIP out the ribbon cable.....and down time ....as you LOOK for a oem ribbon cable....I tryed a " el cheapo " too and i had same issue as you are.....THEN i replaced it with a Dji OEM and i was back in the air again ! "Good Luck" !
Thank you! I didn't put the pins in while testing since I didn't want to rip the pegs off when it didn't work. I just bought the real thing from Amazon for $60 from DJI.... Man that's a pricey cable when the knock offs are$8. Hopefully this works!
 
  • Like
Reactions: genem56
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
1,547
Reaction score
1,329
Age
76
Location
North East Kansas
I've read it here that IF you plug the new ribbon cable in one time..... then un plug it.... and one more time and plug it back in......That the copper foil is so thin......it might even cut its self in the by the second time its inserted...OK on the missing pins........Good Luck Amwilber.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Age
31
I've read it here that IF you plug the new ribbon cable in one time..... then un plug it.... and one more time and plug it back in......That the copper foil is so thing...it might even cut its self in the by the second time its inserted...OK on the missing pins........Good Luck Amwilber.
Sorry you are saying that removing it will ruin it or will make it work? Some misspellings in there I couldn't understand. Thanks a lot!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone
Joined
Sep 30, 2017
Messages
1,547
Reaction score
1,329
Age
76
Location
North East Kansas
my spell checker went out to celebrate New Year so.....I found a few words misspelled and that i corrected Thank you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone
Joined
Jan 8, 2018
Messages
25
Reaction score
4
Age
31
Ok update....put a brand new DJI Authentic part 85 (gimbal cable) and still have the exact same problem. Absolutely nothing with the camera functioning when I turn on the drone. If I go into the DJI app it also has the camera settings all grayed out as if it isn't even recognizing a camera is there. I still do see lights lighting up on the camera, but no movement. Any troubleshooting steps beyond this? Anyone know a good repair place to send it to?
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
40
Did you get any further with this as I am having the same problem?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
137,764
Messages
1,423,521
Members
100,009
Latest member
seaman5705