Phantom 3 Advanced dropped from sky

TuT

Reaction score
Hi All,
I am looking for some comments on my recent Phantom 3 crash. I had been flying it fine for 8 months until I decided to upgrade the firmware. In the first flight after the upgrade the quad just dropped from the sky with 96% battery remaining.
I have video of the crash. I was flying the quad in a straight line back to me. The video shows this, then the quad just tumbles and smashes on the ground.

You can watch the video here:
CRASH VIDEO.mpg

DJI's response to my warranty claim states:
"
1. The aircraft was piloted under P-GPS mode, and responded to the pilot’s control well;
2. T=366.2s, h=19.9m, aircraft crashed after pilot pulled throttle and elevator down, and pushed aileron rightward; "
AND a $705 bill for repairs.

What I am asking is, does the video and DJI's explanation bear any resemblence to each other.
Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

I suggest you replay the flight in DJI Go. Watch the depiction of stick movements. If it shows both sticks in and down or out and down you performed a CSC.

Reactions: Digdat0
I just replayed the flight in DJI Go as you suggested. There is NO CSC. When the drone dropped I had the right stick straight down and the left stick down about 1/8th. This is NOT a CSC!
Grrrrrr.... I'm so angry at DJI right now. They are straight out telling lies.

I just looked at the video.... you didn't lose power (battery cell collapse is usually lights out camera and all) and other CSC I have seen posted video that's pretty much how it looked. Didnitbhave all four props on when you retrieved it?

I just looked at the video.... you didn't lose power (battery cell collapse is usually lights out camera and all) and other CSC I have seen posted video that's pretty much how it looked. Didnitbhave all four props on when you retrieved it?

All four props but one had snapped in half, I'm guessing when it hit the ground.