P3P Camera Misalignment

Reaction score
I am new to contributing to this forum but have done a lot of reading. I'm wonder if someone could weigh-in on an issue with camera alignment. I have a Phantom 3 Pro. I had a gimbal top board that was not transmitting video. Other than that, the gimbal movement and positioning responded perfectly. I replaced only the top board. Now the yaw is skewed all the way to the left and the roll has the camera tilted beyond what the RC can correct. Any suggestions? Thanks.

The yaw arm grub screw clamps on a flat machined in the pivot shaft, is this correctly aligned? I would think so but it might be worth checking.
If you literally replaced just the top board I am wondering if the magnetic 'sensor' ring on the pivot shaft is out of alignement with the presumed sensor on the board (see Professional - P3P Camera off center). I'd be somewhat surprised if the ring was not assembled in a specified and standard position at manufacture but....... and I suppose it is possible it could have been displaced during your repair.
However .... are you sure the new board was good?
Did you get just the top board or did you get the board + its housing and the pivot shaft?
Have you tried a gimbal calibration?

Reactions: RodPad
Thanks for your response. The flat side of the shaft and the screw are in the correct position. What I did was move the yaw pivot point off the flat edge of the shaft so the camera points forward. Doing that it works just fine. My concern is that the screw now does not hit the flat side of the shaft. The new board appears to work just fine. I got the the top board, no housing or yaw motor. I'm wondering, as you somewhat mentioned, if there is a factory alignment that goes on with the magnet sensor ring and the top board. Do you know if that sensor ring can be moved?

I am new to contributing to this forum but have done a lot of reading.