P3 Pro, Compass Error, Atti Mode Enabled... Crash

Reaction score
I am new to the whole forum thing and I am fully aware of similar threads out there, none of which seem to help, therefore please bare with me!

I’ve had my P3P for a couple months now and have had about 10-15 consecutive, flawless flights in different locations. More recently, about 10 minutes into EVERY flight, my phantom switches from GPS to ATTI mode or OPTI mode, regardless on the location, which have all been nowhere near buildings or other magnetic interference. It says “Compass Error: Exit P-GPS mode, ATTI mode enabled.”

I make sure on every flight that I have atleast 16 satellites connected and if I do not have phone service then I pre-load the map before I arrive at the location. This method worked for about a month without fail and then suddenly no matter if I load the map, have 3G and satellites connected or not, an error occurs every time.

2 of the occasions have been out over the sea and the wind has just carried my drone away, forcing me to panic (with hardly any control) and bring it down for a tactical crash land as close to me as I can. Luckily this has only caused minor injuries but one of these days it’s going to end up in the sea or a crash land is going to cause serious damage.

I am beginning to think there is a fault in my drone’s compass? But then surely the error would happen straight away and not 10 mins into a flight? I bought it used, not new if that helps.

I’ve seen all the suggestions that it could be magnetic interference or lack of satellites connected etc etc etc and this is clearly not the case, so please only get in touch if you believe you have a solid justification.

Thanks in advacne folks!

SCREENSHOTS (I think?!)
Errors | DJI Phantom Drone Forum