P3 Advanced with a 4k Camera

Jacob

Administrator
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
735
Reaction score
295
Looks like the Pro camera and the Advanced camera have the same connectors.

11193340_917509901628159_3352241327247495690_n.jpg
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,348
Reaction score
10,480
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Website
PhantomHelp.com
It didn't come like that. The owner swapped his Pro and Advanced cameras to see if they were compatible. And, they are.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
1,017
Reaction score
214
Location
South Dakota
It didn't come like that. The owner swapped his Pro and Advanced cameras to see if they were compatible. And, they are.
yes but as many have thought the cameras may well be the same camera just software disabled.
So does the new 4k camera shoot 4k on the silver, And even if it does that will just prove the the software is on the camera,so maybe we can crack the software on the current camera to do the same.
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2015
Messages
94
Reaction score
51
Age
71
Location
Wichita, Kansas
The firmware for the Professional and Advance are different on the DJI website. Changing the camera may create some issues for the software or the App. Have to see how it works to verify the features, such as camera settings are applicable. Does the firmware update know the type of Phantom? Would it even load on the wrong type... I doubt it.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
1,017
Reaction score
214
Location
South Dakota
The firmware for the Professional and Advance are different on the DJI website. Changing the camera may create some issues for the software or the App. Have to see how it works to verify the features, such as camera settings are applicable. Does the firmware update know the type of Phantom? Would it even load on the wrong type... I doubt it.
maybe the firmware is different as one disables 4k ?????????? hhmmmmmm
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
277
Reaction score
103
Age
46
I'm kind of curious as well.. But slightly doubtful that it would just be firmware. The only published differences between the Pro and Advanced is the Camera Bitrate.. The Sensor is published as being the same.

The processor??? Why would DJI sell the cameras with a price difference of $250.00 with the same sensor and the same processor when they could put a less expensive processor in the camera that's only capable of 40 mbs and still make the same relative price margin between the Pro and Advanced?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 19, 2013
Messages
1,017
Reaction score
214
Location
South Dakota
I'm kind of curious as well.. But slightly doubtful that it would just be firmware. The only published differences between the Pro and Advanced is the Camera Bitrate.. The Sensor is published as being the same.

The processor??? Why would DJI sell the cameras with a price difference of $250.00 with the same sensor and the same processor when they could put a less expensive processor in the camera that's only capable of 40 mbs and still make a relative price margin between the Pro and Advanced?
in bulk volume the processor price difference would be pennies ,especialy if you buy just the better one and put in all vs just half that many to put in half. Just my thoughts. Im thinking it is just disabled somewhere. And marketing sells the better one for more, as if you can get more by saying better many will spend it.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2015
Messages
277
Reaction score
103
Age
46
^^ True.. But pennies, maybe.. If close to a dollar, then maybe not. Wouldn't cost anything more to tool their assembly line for a different processor.
 
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
408
Reaction score
137
If you check FFC id on the FCC website for the Phantom 3 Advanced and Professional, the interior photos of both the Quads and Camera are Confidential.
BUT we can notice both device have separate FCC application and FCC ID, so this lead to the theory that both device have not the same interior or parts, but maybe im wrong

Phantom 3 Adv Fcc Page : https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repo...=N&application_id=465942&fcc_id=SS3-WM3221503

Phantom 3 Pro FCC Page :
https://apps.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/repo...=N&application_id=170165&fcc_id=SS3-WM3231503

We would need Photos, of the interior of both devices, and camera to compare, chips, etc...

Edit : Read confidentiality letter request from DJI for more information about the temporary confidentiality of the interior photos..
 
  • Like
Reactions: Buzz313th
Joined
May 29, 2014
Messages
408
Reaction score
137
2 persons will need the courage to dismount both P3A and P3P camera and post results here in order to know ...
 
  • Like
Reactions: Steven_Ewald
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
556
Reaction score
125
Age
58
Location
Italy
I'd be willing to bet they are the same camera with 4K disabled on the advanced.
We just need somebody to find and supply the hack to enable 4K.

I'm sure this is true ... I will spend some time to this subject next weeks... **** at least when I will receive both P3...
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
556
Reaction score
125
Age
58
Location
Italy
May be that phisically switching camera between the two it works perfectly as stated by someone. That until you run a fw update .... Trasforming one camera to the other I think may not possible, they differ by sensor type at least...mhhh....
 

Meta4

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
Jan 8, 2014
Messages
14,641
Reaction score
8,640
I'd guess that since the quadcopter is the same and the camera is the only difference - if you put the 4K camera on your P2A, it's now a P2Pro and that's the firmware you'd be using.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
556
Reaction score
125
Age
58
Location
Italy
I'd guess that since the quadcopter is the same and the camera is the only difference - if you put the 4K camera on your P2A, it's now a P2Pro and that's the firmware you'd be using.

Right, but it is not so trivial. The 2 (different) firmware need to be hacked for the first switch, then you can go straight ...
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2015
Messages
629
Reaction score
140
Location
Treasure Island, FL
Is there any more on this subject. .. I trashed my hd camera on my phantom 3 and going to buy a camera soon .. but wanted to know how i
This worked with firmware
Can I ask, Shaker, how many flights you had with your P3? ...and how was your camera damaged?
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,029
Messages
1,444,228
Members
101,793
Latest member
Jose R Nonis