Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Not a good question

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by AbsPapa, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. AbsPapa

    AbsPapa Guest

    xxx
     
    #1 AbsPapa, Jun 30, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 1, 2015
  2. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    351
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    I have often wondered about this, some larger model A/C (as well as full size ones) do have parachutes that are remote deployed. As they would be rip-stop nylon they would not block the GPS (i don't think). In case of a fly-away (or other issue) you could do a CSC then deploy the chute and watch it float back down.
     
    AbsPapa likes this.
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    25,636
    Likes Received:
    7,779
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    That would not be possible since the props nearly touch in the middle. A side mount could work though.
     
  4. Chuck Young

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    193
    It would be one heck of a mess if it deployed with the motors running! :eek:
     
  5. AbsPapa

    AbsPapa Guest

    Props may not be spinning when you deploy it?
     
  6. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,129
    Likes Received:
    351
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Uh... have you actually looked at your props closely, there is a little over 4" of clear space point to point in the center of the dome, height isn't an issue. We are not talking about a SpaceX recovery chute here.
     
  7. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    2,013
    Location:
    Western US
  8. AbsPapa

    AbsPapa Guest

  9. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    195
    Ever shot a model rocket in the wind?
     
  10. witold

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    104
    It might seem like no weight at all, but even 1.1 ripstop nylon is about 1.5-2.5oz per yard. And you need a fair bit for a parachute, more than you think. Add lines, servo, cable, and it will add up quick.

    If you start using exotic materials, not a lot of people are going to want to pay $300 to maybe save $1000. (Quads depreciate so you're not saving retail, and it's also unlikely you will be saved 100%.)
     
  11. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,052
    Likes Received:
    5,018
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Please do not use titles like this as it is considered 'click bait' and is a violation of the rules. Please change the title @AbsPapa to something descriptive. Thanks ;)

    DJI brought that concept to market over a year ago. It's called 'DropSafe' and there are others although I don't know if any are made for the Phantom platform - http://www.dji.com/product/dropsafe

     
    dirkclod likes this.
Loading...
Similar Threads - question Forum Date
Question for those that fly use DJI pro and Litchi General Discussion Yesterday at 8:25 PM
Battery Question - Temp Phantom 4 Pro Discussion Yesterday at 12:07 PM
Newbie question; Why is photo and video so bad Phantom 4 Pro Help Yesterday at 9:35 AM
Unboxing a new P3P question. General Discussion Saturday at 6:58 AM
Part 107 sample question General Discussion Saturday at 3:05 AM