Noob questions about compass error & ATTI message

Reaction score
Be gentle - I'm still learning :)

I just bought a new P3S to replace one I crashed (my fault - preventable mistake.) The controller for the broken one has an ARGtek kit on it & I successfully linked it to the new drone so I know they're communicating. Even with a compass error should the motors spin up when the sticks are pulled down/inwards? (I don't have the props on so it won't take off by accident.) The compass on the broken drone would calibrate if I was in the middle of the street away from cars, etc but the new one won't. I even had my bro-in-law do 'the dance' & he wasn't carrying a cell phone or even wearing a watch and I'd previously calibrated the IMU.

I'm also getting a message that says it's in ATTI mode even though the switch is in GPS mode & I have 11 satellites. While it's annoying my first issue is to make sure the motors will spin.

On the advice of a forum member I downgraded the s/w to version 1.05.7 which is apparently better than the most recent update. I'm not sure what the rationale was but he's more knowledgeable about Phantoms than I am so maybe someone could explain why / how it's better.

Maybe I'll go back to building / collecting guns. I've never had one I couldn't make go "BANG!"

Try calibrating the compass in an open area, for all we know there could be a giant cast iron water main directly below you.

The phantom can’t enter GPS mode while it is detecting an issue with the compass- it will ignore the satellites positioning data.

What are your compass mod values?

Try calibrating the compass in an open area, for all we know there could be a giant cast iron water main directly below you.

The phantom can’t enter GPS mode while it is detecting an issue with the compass- it will ignore the satellites positioning data.

What are your compass mod values?

Thanks for the info - I learned something new and appreciate you passing along your knowledge.