Reaction score
I am new to the hobby. I am really not an Ace all the other names were taken during registration.
My question is the go app. tells me that I am in class e air space but the nearest airport is 6 miles away from me.
I was told for the time being I cannot contact the ATC or LAANC to get permission too fly.
I think I will have to travel around and look for class g air space until the LAANC is available.
Anyone know how long it will be before I can use the LAANC?
Thanks.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum! :)

It would be better to use the AirMap map to confirm whether or not you're in Class G airspace. Until further notice from the FAA, hobbyists can only fly in Class G airspace or authorized fixes sites (like AMA fields) within controlled airspace.

It would be better to use the AirMap map to confirm whether or not you're in Class G airspace. Until further notice from the FAA, hobbyists can only fly in Class G airspace or authorized fixes sites (like AMA fields) within controlled airspace.
Thank you very much.

Welcome to the forum.
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .?

Yeah we all know how much fun it is to fly your drone at AMA fields these days. I love dodging all those crazy foamy 3D airplanes and tic-tocking helicopters billowing smoke everywhere!

Yeah we all know how much fun it is to fly your drone at AMA fields these days. I love dodging all those crazy foamy 3D airplanes and tic-tocking helicopters billowing smoke everywhere!
I just heard today I will be required to take a safety test sometime in October of this year.
Are there any materials out there to study for the test?
Thank You