Professional Need tech help.. pulling my hair out !!!!

Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
Hi , is there anyone on here with real technical knowledge of these drones?
Im in the outback of spain and nearest dji dealer is 6hr drive away.

No matter what I try I cant get a video feed from the p3p..
everything else works fine, gimbal, compass, gps , flight etc...
but all I get in the dji app is the dji logo in the middle where there should be a video feed...
latest firmware installed, remote re linked.. still the same.
spent ages trying to get remote to link while sat in the lounge, that wasn't happening until I removed myself outside, then it linked straight away.. still no video feed
 
Last edited:

Oso

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
4,821
Reaction score
3,878
Location
Western US
No matter what I try I cant get a video feed from the p3p..
everything else works fine,
latest firmware installed, remote re linked.. still the same.
So it sounds like the most common problem with P3Ps. No image transmission. in a search, you'll find several hundred posts about it on here on the forum over the last few years.

What I normally ask people to do is to upload their LOG_AB file so we can see what it shows for modules 8 and 15. A majority of the time, it shows 'device not detected' for those two modules. This is a classic symptom of no image transmission. Click here for info about the LOG_AB file.

What normally happens next is that the person gets distracted by other posts. Then we tell them again to read the linked post and upload the LOG_AB file. Eventually they upload the normal RESULT_AB file instead of the LOG_AB file. Then we tell them to read the linked post again and upload the actual LOG_AB file. Then they reply back that they don't see it because the folder is empty. Then we tell them to read the linked post again and be sure that hidden files are showing. Then they upload the LOG_AB file and we see that modules 8/15 show as 'not detected.' Usually a bad gimbal top (main) board often from overheating.

Since the issue is so common, there is also an outstanding troubleshooting chart where we send people so that they can start by checking the basics. You can find that chart here. That post and posts within that thread also link to steps you can take to fix the issue yourself. Several folks have followed the steps and successfully fixed their P3P, but several have also noted that the steps are too technical for their comfort. One of the steps is to check the LOG_AB file.

In your case, your previous hard crash and the use of non OEM cables in the repair could be playing a part.

spent ages trying to get remote to link while sat in the lounge, that wasn't happening until I removed myself outside, then it linked straight away.. still no video feed
My expectation would be that being indoors or outdoors would not make a difference with linking your AC to your RC. Are you sure that you have a link? What FW versions do you have on both? Asking to be sure that you don't have an encryption mismatch.
 
Last edited:

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,889
Reaction score
4,646
Age
51
Location
NZ
See if this does anything,,it was in some replys of logo stuck onscreen,I think its controller reset
Screenshot_20191221-112600_Chrome.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
So it sounds like the most common problem with P3Ps. No image transmission. in a search, you'll find several hundred posts about it on here on the forum over the last few years.

What I normally ask people to do is to upload their LOG_AB file so we can see what it shows for modules 8 and 15. A majority of the time, it shows 'device not detected' for those two modules. This is a classic symptom of no image transmission. Click here for info about the LOG_AB file.

What normally happens next is that the person posts the normal RESULT_AB file instead of the LOG_AB file. Then we tell them to read the linked post again and upload the actual LOG_AB file. Then they reply back that they don't see it because the folder is empty. Then we tell them to read the linked post again and be sure that hidden files are showing. Then they upload the LOG_AB file and we see that modules 8/15 show as 'not detected.'

Since the issue is so common, there is also an outstanding troubleshooting chart where we send people so that they can start by checking the basics. You can find that chart here. That post and posts within that thread also link to steps you can take to fix the issue yourself. Several folks have followed the steps and successfully fixed their P3P, but several have also noted that the steps are too technical for their comfort.

In your case, your previous hard crash and the use of non OEM cables in the repair could be playing a part.


My expectation would be that being indoors or outdoors would not make a difference with linking your AC to your RC. What FW versions do you have on both? Asking to be sure that you don't have an encryption mismatch.


YOU SIR ARE AN ABSOLUTE GENTLEMAN !!!
I will follow all that to the letter...
Is it possible I’ve knocked a connector loose in the shell? I’ve not taken that apart as there was no damage.
The hard crash as you put it was not that hard as it happens. It did a landing in an olive grove, the trees are only around 2m high, so I’m suspecting it came down at normal speed, didn’t see the treee and went down through that.
Hence why I have concentrated on the gimbal, I’ve tried my mates camera on it and still the same...

I will follow all the instructions above and get back to you.

many thanks for the long and detailed reply, it’s very much appreciated
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
Ok, well that was quick...
Red light on remote... not linked to ac ?

what next.. she’ll apart and look for loose connector ?
 

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,889
Reaction score
4,646
Age
51
Location
NZ
Ok, well that was quick...
Red light on remote... not linked to ac ?

what next.. she’ll apart and look for loose connector ?
Can you open app to relink ? If not manual link as below
Screenshot_20191221-133002_Gallery.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
Ok... update... now have green light on Rc but still no feed.. just the dji logo

Followed the fault finding chart as far as changing iso to auto, only to find that the camera button and camera menu button are greyed out.. can’t change them

Led on front of gimbal flashing green and red so suspect connection from gimbal to the other board ofdb? Which is that and where is it located
 
Last edited:

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,889
Reaction score
4,646
Age
51
Location
NZ
What colour is your gimble light
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
Led on front of gimbal flashing green and red so suspect connection from gimbal to the other board ofdb? Which is that and where is it located
 
  • Like
Reactions: ianzone

ianzone

**P4**
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
6,889
Reaction score
4,646
Age
51
Location
NZ
Led on front of gimbal flashing green and red so suspect connection from gimbal to the other board ofdb? Which is that and where is it located
Red and green on this light chart,,,mayby the firmware update failed,,?has me unsure
Screenshot_20191221-220506_Chrome.jpg
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
Thanks I’m out at the moment.. but when I get home I’ll check it against that..

After a lot of fiddling about last night I got it to link with rc ok using a Huawei phone, galaxy tab is having issues connecting.

However the main issue is still no video feed
 

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,127
Reaction score
773
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Hope you had a fan blowing air on the gimbal as it was trying to update. Maybe overheated the gimbal board. As mentioned above, flashing red and green light on gimbal means it’s updating.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
The pro has its own fan, surely a drone of this price doesn’t need a fan blowing on it just to update software ????!!!!!!
 

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,127
Reaction score
773
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
I wouldn’t have said it if it wasn’t important. The little fan on the gimbal is worthless. There are MANY POSTS on this forum that backs up what I wrote. I have worked on many 3 pro cameras specifically for the reason of overheating during updates. Do a search about no video feed on P3P cameras on this forum,,, then let me know what you find out!
Just trying to help 🖖
 
  • Like
Reactions: dronesky and Oso

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,127
Reaction score
773
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Having a sd card inserted has nothing to do with no image transmission. My recommendation is to do what Oso said to do, in post #2! That will take all the guesswork out of the problem.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Oso
Joined
Dec 3, 2019
Messages
50
Reaction score
9
Age
57
I wouldn’t have said it if it wasn’t important. The little fan on the gimbal is worthless. There are MANY POSTS on this forum that backs up what I wrote. I have worked on many 3 pro cameras specifically for the reason of overheating during updates. Do a search about no video feed on P3P cameras on this forum,,, then let me know what you find out!
Just trying to help 🖖

Hey I appreciate your help, I’m just a bit gobsmacked that that is an issue.. is there any recourse with dji if this is a known problem ? Surely theirs is a manufacturing issue that dji should cover.

It may well be the issue as I jus followed the instructions on dji website
 

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,127
Reaction score
773
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Unless it’s still in the warranty period or you have dji refresh, I highly doubt that they will replace it. Now, for a price,,, I’m sure they would. Call them up and plead your case. Won’t know unless you try.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
140,499
Messages
1,448,231
Members
102,289
Latest member
DanTucker