Need some help!

Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
40
I just purchased a Phantom 3 Pro off CL that was in a crash. He told me the drone was in good shape aside from the gimbal arm being broken but he couldn't get it to fly. So I paid $80 for it and got the drone, 3 batteries, 8 props, controller, broken gimbal arm and pro camera. I have installed the DJI Go app and when I turn on the controller it seems fine but when I turn the drone on it lights up and 2 of the arms lights underneath stay solid red and the drone beeps continuously. I first got a ESC error and it told me to restart the drone and I did it that hasn't come up again so far. When I try to have to take-off (no props on) 3 of the motors turn and one does not. When I select the Take Off option the 3 turn for a few seconds and then they stop. Also the port on the Phantom 3 OFDM Receiver Module was off, I looked and it doesn't seem to be broken, so I will try to solder it. It should still take off with no gimbal or camera correct?

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
2,294
Reaction score
1,225
Location
Irvine (Orange County) CA
I just purchased a Phantom 3 Pro off CL that was in a crash. He told me the drone was in good shape aside from the gimbal arm being broken but he couldn't get it to fly. So I paid $80 for it and got the drone, 3 batteries, 8 props, controller, broken gimbal arm and pro camera. I have installed the DJI Go app and when I turn on the controller it seems fine but when I turn the drone on it lights up and 2 of the arms lights underneath stay solid red and the drone beeps continuously. I first got a ESC error and it told me to restart the drone and I did it that hasn't come up again so far. When I try to have to take-off (no props on) 3 of the motors turn and one does not. When I select the Take Off option the 3 turn for a few seconds and then they stop. Also the port on the Phantom 3 OFDM Receiver Module was off, I looked and it doesn't seem to be broken, so I will try to solder it. It should still take off with no gimbal or camera correct?

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.
That is one hurt P3. I would try to sell the batteries and controller to recoup your $80 loss.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KachemakDiver
Joined
Sep 24, 2017
Messages
113
Reaction score
22
Age
55
Not sure. If DJI still works on P3s, perhaps you could send it in and get it sent back like new. I have had two crashes on my P4Ps and they fly as if out of the box.

You may pay some money but it would be cheaper than buying a new drone. Once you get towards 5 bills, I would simply buy a used Phantom 4. IF you would like I am getting ready to sell my Phantom 4 Advanced. Nice drone. Flies great. Perhaps if interested we could work a deal. Again only if it fits your needs and budget.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
40
I would like to try and repair it if I can. I'm going to solder the port back on, from what I can see it looks like that has no damage the solder was just loosened from the crash. If one of the motors doesn't work would the P3 still take off or could that be causing the error noise and light?
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
2,294
Reaction score
1,225
Location
Irvine (Orange County) CA
I would like to try and repair it if I can. I'm going to solder the port back on, from what I can see it looks like that has no damage the solder was just loosened from the crash. If one of the motors doesn't work would the P3 still take off or could that be causing the error noise and light?
The A/C cannot take off/fly with only 3 props spinning. If you're determined to keep it, you should consider locating a professional repair shop or send it in to DJI. These things are sophisticated machines.

Good luck.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dronesky
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
40
So I have an update...

I went to a local drone store and after the tech looked at it quickly he said it was the motor for sure, so I bought the replacement and he said don't bother soldering that port on the board and comes back and hands me a used but good one and goes " don't tell, it's on the house". So I replaced that and the new gimbal arm and so far so good. I now have removed the top cover to replace the motor.

I have to go back to the shop today, the tech sold me a 2312a and I have the old board.

I have gained some progress, got the gimbal back together along with the camera. I still am not getting any picture on the screen, I can move the camera with the controller bit no video. Would the P3P show the image of it has a ESC Error? I removed the bad motor and will replace that today but I was wondering if it could cause that issue?

Thanks
 

Attachments

  • 15838827982906910641882099071174.jpg
    15838827982906910641882099071174.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 83
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
586
Location
PL
Firstly, please be more descriptive in thread subjects. Most of the threads could be named "Need help".

Would the P3P show the image of it has a ESC Error?

Video pipeline has no relation to control pipeline. OFDM module is the only common part.

To get some understanding of the boards and what each does, you may look at simplified schematic PDF from here:
o-gs/dji-hardware-schematics

Each board is also described in text here:
o-gs/dji-firmware-tools

And here's my schematic of the video part:
Ph3_pro_video_feed_pipeline_v2
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
40
So I just left the store, Ian exchanged the motors and I doubled checked. The gimbal seems to work properly however; I still cannot see an image and when the tech connected it to his iPad (I was using a Pixel 3XL) it said No Image Transmission Signal. He said it was either a firmware issue and I should try and update it again just in case something happened before (I am on the newest version) or it could be the gimbal board.

Any thoughts?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
40
I attached the new motor and it has the same issue and I even tried a motor that I know was good and no luck. So after talking with the tech again he is assuming it's a bad board. He said he has a good condition used one he can sell me for $20.

Would you agree that it sounds like the main board?

Thanks
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
586
Location
PL
If ESC is damaged, the issue is in ESC Center Board, as that is where all 4 ESCs are located.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Age
40
I was hoping that I needed the 1.11.30 firmware which is for the ESC Error but that is typically from the 1.11.20 firmware issue apparently.

I have made some progress though, the gimbal and camera seem to be working fine, it responds to the RC and I tried taking a picture even though I still cannot see anything on the app. I transfered the sdcard to the PC and it had the pictures I had just taken and they looked fine. So I am assuming the camera is fine then, could the Main Board ESC Error becausing the issue of no video on the app?

When I tried doing the 1.11.30 update the drone read the sdcard and started the update, it blinked red and green and made the noises. After a few minutes though it went solid red and a solid tone. I tried it a few more times and it would go for 30 secs and stop and others 2-3 mins before the solid red again, could this also be because of the main board problem or is it only from the gimbal board?

I'm going to the store later and the tech said he has a board used but working fine that he can give me for $25.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
586
Location
PL
ould the Main Board ESC Error becausing the issue of no video on the app?
No.
Follow the diagram. You likely have issues with DaVinci.

it would go for 30 secs and stop and others 2-3 mins before the solid red again, could this also be because of the main board problem or is it only from the gimbal board?
It's both. Check logs.

a board used but working fine that he can give me for $25.
"a board"? I use board names from the Github project.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2016
Messages
1,370
Reaction score
586
Location
PL
I am new to drones, so I apologize not knowing all the terminology.

That's not related to drones only. You have two issues, so saying "a board" doesn't mean much.

Here are my logs

The last entry doesn't look good, I hope it is temporary, otherwise it means nothing works right - FC and OFDM are dead. Upgrading a physically damaged drone might've been a bad idea.

Code:
[00013935]Packet checking...
 [00013994]Packet vlink 01.11.0030 <-> 01.11.0020.
 [00014054]Record vlink 01.11.0020 <-> 01.11.0020 (flow = 0).
 [00014113]Done.

 [00014170]Version checking[1]...
 [00026733][03 06][00] device not detected.
 [00039293][03 05][00] device not detected.
 [00039362][04 00][00] v1.48.0.0 -> v1.48.0.0
 [00051920][11 00][00] device not detected.
 [00064480][11 01][00] device not detected.
 [00077040][12 00][00] device not detected.
 [00089598][12 01][00] device not detected.
 [00102154][12 02][00] device not detected.
 [00114716][12 03][00] device not detected.
 [00127271][15 00][00] device not detected.
 [00139823][17 00][00] device not detected.
 [00152397][17 01][00] device not detected.
 [00164952][19 00][00] device not detected.
 [00165010][01 00][00] v1.32.5432 -> v1.32.5432
 [00165068][01 01][00] v1.32.5432 -> v1.32.5432
 [00177626][08 00][00] device not detected.
 [00190186][09 00][00] device not detected.
 [00190245]Packet upgrade failed at version checking.

If it is temporary and we consider how the situation looked before:
Code:
 [00015841]Packet checking...
 [00015898]Packet vlink 01.11.0030 <-> 01.11.0020.
 [00015960]Record vlink 01.11.0020 <-> 01.11.0020 (flow = 0).
 [00016012]Done.

 [00016070]Version checking[1]...
 [00016170][03 06][00] v2.4.20.50 -> v2.4.20.50
 [00016270][03 05][00] v34.2.0.9 -> v34.2.0.9
 [00016339][04 00][00] v1.48.0.0 -> v1.48.0.0
 [00016470][11 00][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v1.8.0.0
 [00016609][11 01][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v2.0.0.33, firmware v1.8.0.0 not support.
 [00016668][11 01][00] v1.8.0.0 -> v2.0.0.33
 [00016778][12 00][00] v1.13.0.0 -> v1.13.0.0
 [00016878][12 01][00] v1.13.0.0 -> v1.13.0.0
 [00016979][12 02][00] v1.13.0.0 -> v1.13.0.0
 [00017084][12 03][00] v1.13.0.0 -> v1.13.0.0
 [00029644][15 00][00] device not detected.
 [00029739][17 00][00] v1.1.1.7 -> v1.1.1.7
 [00029879][17 01][00] v1.0.2.7 -> v1.0.2.7
 [00029955][19 00][00] v1.0.8.96 -> v1.0.8.96
 [00030012][01 00][00] v1.32.5432 -> v1.32.5432
 [00030070][01 01][00] v1.32.5432 -> v1.32.5432
 [00042630][08 00][00] device not detected.
 [00042716][09 00][00] v4.1.0.0 -> v4.1.0.0
 [00042771]Packet upgrade failed at version checking.

The Ambarella chip didn't got any answer from m0800 and m1500. The rest worked (which also means that micro-controller part of the faulty ESC worked).
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,498
Messages
1,448,226
Members
102,289
Latest member
DanTucker