Motor replacement

Reaction score
I replaced a motor on P3 advanced. I am not good at soldering so I spliced the motor wires instead and shrieked wrapped the connection. I now have an ecs warning when trying to start the motors. Is my the way I spliced the wires causing me problems??? I’d appreciate any advise and help from the forum.

Thanks,

I would suggest that wires should definitely be soldered as we would not like to risk disconnect during flights.

Check the connections. I guess that ESC error was there even before you replaced the motor.

I believe the splice is your problem. I tried splicing when I replaced a motor and I had issues, the motor "chattered" when powered. Once the motor was soldered to the motherboard, no issues

Thanks so much. When the motor seized, the other 3 motors would start. Also, it was after a crash that the motor went bad. Does this give you any more info?

Them 4 motors draw a lots of amps..and a twisted connection is not going to pass the amps they need to run...practice soldering then solder them on the drone....then shrink wrap them...Good Luck !

You have inadvertently created extra work and a headache for yourself. The fly leads from the motor are a continuation of the magnet wire used to wind the field coils. Each strand within the coloured sheaths is individually insulated. You need to remove the insulation from each strand by scraping off with a sharp blade or with emery cloth. You could also immerse in a solder bath, probably not something you have available. Ensure the insulation is removed then solder together before heat shrinking. Best option would be to get another motor and re tin the pcb pads prior to sweating on (the motor leads are pre prepared for soldering to the main board.