Mapping Mountainous terrain

Reaction score
Hi,
I am a surveyor and plan to use Phantom 4 for mapping.
I am looking for mission planning apps that support terrain following or terrain aware as they call it.
The ones that I found are Map Pilot for iOS and DroneHarmony for Android.
Are you aware of other apps that support this feature?

Here's a couple videos on the subject:

The ones that I found are Map Pilot for iOS and DroneHarmony for Android.
We've used Map Pilot on iOS with reasonable success. There was a camera focusing issue in the older app versions, so make sure you have the latest updates. Occasionally we'll have trouble loading the mission to our P4P, but a reboot will solve it. Frustrating, but worth it for the terrain following.

Thanks for the replies. Litchi app doesn't suit my needs because as i can see it does terrain follow only on specific route you set. I need the terrain following in the whole grid of the area to be mapped.
Map pilot on the other hand does what i want but i don't know if the elevation data are available in europe and also i think the 30m dtm they provide is not that accurate.
I have a dtm of my area in 10m grid which is accurate enough but map pilot does not import our own dtm. DroneHarmony is in beta stage and i am afraid to use it.
One other question i have is, if the dtm have elevations from the mean sea level (orthometric heights) how the drone handles them on site? Does the phantom's gps has included some geoid model to compute orthometric heights?
Thanks all.

Last edited:
Does the phantom's gps has included some geoid model to compute orthometric heights?