Landowners permission for takeoff/landing?

Reaction score
I'm new to drone flying but not new to law. I've been told that I need permission off the land owner before taking off or landing on their property.

I don't remember reading anything with respect to this in any CAA material and everything I know about how the law works brings me to the understanding that if I do something on someone else's property (that they don't want me to do), then I'm simply committing to trespass. Unless, of course I'm committing an offence under common law (murder, rape, theft ect...)

The person who told me this claims to have "a drone licence" and said that if I had one then I should know. I'm pretty sure he's lying about having passed his part 107 (or even owning a drone at all), especially since he seems to be under the impression that to fly one, you must be licenced. However, I thought I'd check just to remove any doubt on the matter.

Many thanks

If you are talking about operating a UAV from someone else's private property, then surely the answer is yes - you need permission - just like you need some form of permission, implied or direct, even to be on private property.

***Edited*****

Why would you need to take off and land on someone else's property?

Hello
y2keable
animated-smileys-waving-015.gif

Welcome to the forum and the addiction er hobby :)

Of course you need the property owners permission to "use" their property. It's a courtesy you should extend to them and will only help your future UAS endeavors.

If you're in the US you have some rules and guidelines to follow (registering your UAS is first) so it's a good idea to read up on HOBBY flight. If you'd like to take it further and try to make some $$ then read up on Part 107.

I'm talking with respect to the fact that all land belongs to someone, though some lands have public right of way/public access and are therefore considered to be "public property"