I've had the Phantom Vision for 2 days and...

Reaction score
I first want to start off by saying this is the first aircraft I've ever owned. I've had people approach me everywhere I went with it so far and everyone is in awe by it - including myself.

My gripe with the Phantom Vision is this. I'm a photographer. I use a 5D Mark III and have been spoiled by quality. By no means was I ever expecting the quality of a 5D on this camera. This Phantom Vision camera seems to be great for photos. However, if you compare the photos to videos, the photo's look a lot better. I would honestly rather shoot in timer mode with photos than record video.

I love what the first generation could do and I bought the vision based on what I saw people do with the first generation however, I wanted the latest technology and decided to go for the vision. Now that I got the vision I see the flaws in the stability and not being impressed by its video quality. I'm actually thinking about selling the vision and getting the original and modifying it just to use the GoPro and gimbal. I'm hoping an enthusiast can manage to somehow mount a gimbal to the new camera so i don't lose the FPV or put a gimbal on it with a GoPro and find a way to still get FPV without breaking the bank.

I'm kind of at a loss right now. I love the photo quality of the Vision as well as the technology but I'm not happy with the video and stability. It seems no matter if I go for the first or second generation I'm going to have to compromise something, including flight time and battery life of the first generation.

As a newbie to this whole market and hobby, I'm hoping someone can offer me some kind of advice to modify the vision to be as stable and have great video like the gopro and zenmuse while maintaining FPV. If not, is there a better option than to spend 2k on modding the first generation?

Thanks in advance.

To see my vision in flight, goto https://www.facebook.com/jeffsettin

Jeff Lombardo