Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Is the DJI iOSD unit compatible with the Upgrade Board?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by tmcgowan, Aug 28, 2013.

  1. tmcgowan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    I recently installed the DJI Upgrade Board to go along with my Zenmuse to get the weight down a bit. Everything is working fine, so then I went a little further by purchasing the Altitude FatShark goggles and the DJI iOSD unit. This is where I've gotten lost.

    Apparently, you have to an S-bus to make the iOSD unit work. Okay, I'll just add back the PMU I purchased when I originally got my Zenmuse. But now I'm confused as to how to connect it up since I think I'll end up disabling the Zenmuse if I plug in the PMU into the X3 connector.

    Has anyone made this configuration work?

    I'm not going to open the sealed iOSD package until I feel confident this will work.

    Any help would be appreciated!

    -Todd
     
  2. Netwarrior

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apparently, the Phantom upgrade board V1 (P330CB-H3-2D) is NOT compatible with DJI Mini iOSD or the BT Module due to the missing Can-Bus connector.

    I've heard a V2 version of the Phantom upgrade board is being manufactured now and will be available soon which will be compatible with the DJI Mini iOSD and BT Module.
     
  3. tmcgowan

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1

    Great! I'll just keep the soldering iron warm!

    ;)

    Todd
     
  4. SimonB

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    No way?! This really is starting to get ridiculous.
     
  5. Cody2008

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did u here this? From a dealer? Or here?
     
  6. Netwarrior

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Directly from DJI
     
  7. popwebz

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is why I will not buy a replacement Phantom. Sorry DJI but that is not how you do business.
     
  8. murchisonx

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is ridiculous. They seriously released this board with no compatibility to the products they make? Who is running this business?

    That Colin McFry dude is a total jerk for not dealing with this ****. If he put as much time into the products he represents as he does in the gym they might be a credible company.

    This is unbelievable.
     
  9. Alby Artu

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,
    I just received an answer from somebody at DJI .
    Seems they are going to produce a special Y cable for split the bus port very soon :D
    this way will be possible to plug iOSD also on the upgrade kit.
     
  10. netphreak

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    DJI is also releasing/released a CANbus hub... only time will tell to see if it fits inside.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - DJI iOSD unit Forum Date
F550 with DJI Ground station and mini iOSD problems Other DJI Drones Nov 16, 2016
DJI iOSD mini and CAN HUB Classifieds Aug 31, 2016
DJI IOSD Mini Phantom 1 Discussion Apr 28, 2016
DJI Mini IOSD and dji assistant for the iosd. Phantom 1 Discussion Apr 27, 2016
Mini iOSD DJI on a Phantom 1.1.1 Phantom 1 Discussion Apr 12, 2016