Image freezing, dropping out and black screen on iPhone

Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
61
Hello, i flew my Phantom 3 today and have never had this issue before but the image coming back to the phone was as described in the title. I've not flown for a while as i've also got an Air and that gets more of my time.
Is there something particular i should start looking at to sort this?
The actual image on the SD Card is perfect and the drone flies and the camera operates perfectly.
Any ideas please?
Thank you
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
61
So, sometimes you have a black screen? Sometimes you have a image and the image freezes?
Only momentary black screen, more freezing then the screen populating from the top down, like the old days when images used to load real slow. Like as if the signal is not getting back as it should, like when you listen to DAB radio and it stops and starts as the signal goes.
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,374
Reaction score
2,000
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
I'm always putting new apps on my phone, heaven knows what since i last flew though
You most likely overloaded the CPU on your phone. Too much going on to process. Put to sleep as many apps as you can, Especially any flight app (Go) your not using to fly. Should work fine.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KachemakDiver

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
769
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Ya,to many apps running in the background can affect the quality of the video transmission feed.
The DJI app uses a lot of computing power also.
I started using a dedicated device just for my drones.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO

KachemakDiver

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
1,119
Reaction score
769
Age
58
Location
Homer,Alaska
Only momentary black screen, more freezing then the screen populating from the top down, like the old days when images used to load real slow. Like as if the signal is not getting back as it should, like when you listen to DAB radio and it stops and starts as the signal goes.
Yep, I believe that is the problem. Your phone has to much going on. It isn’t able to process the information fast enough.
 

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,374
Reaction score
2,000
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
Ya,to many apps running in the background can affect the quality of the video transmission feed.
The DJI app uses a lot of computing power also.
I started using a dedicated device just for my drones.
Me Too 😆 #1 Home (iPad) all my apps, #2 (Mini 4) Drones, 4 flight apps, #3 Navigation (Mini 4) 4 Marine apps. Garmin GPS. No Glitches or blank screen! Even follows me home and comes when I call. Eats very little, cheapest pet I’ve owned.
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
61
You most likely overloaded the CPU on your phone. Too much going on to process. Put to sleep as many apps as you can, Especially any flight app (Go) your not using to fly. Should work fine.
Yup i agree with that so i tried my iPad mini that has ZERO apps only the operating system and obviously the DJI app and i'm getting the same issues. I'll try to attach a couple of screen shots below. Oh and by the way i did as well change the USB lead.
I've done a small video but don't know if that will upload.
Any more ideas please?
032653ioraswj92crnrsju.png
032658jap40we09clr533p.png
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
61
Here's a link to the 10 second clip of what's happening, it's a dropbox link.

Thank you all again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO

Capt KO

Capt KO
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
2,374
Reaction score
2,000
Age
69
Location
IRB, Fl
Ouch. Looks like a bad gimbal IMU board (to me) but that usually happens after a drop or shock of some kind. ???
(Board on backside of camera, 4 screws) on P4

Not Sure! Wait for more advice before trying repairs.

Anybody else got any ideas?
 
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
61
Thanks Capt KO. it certainly hasn't had any shocks that i'm aware of but who knows.

I'll see if anyone else has any views as well.

Thank you
 
  • Like
Reactions: Capt KO
Joined
May 8, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
2
Age
61
Thank you for reply. I have tried iPhone and an iPad. The iPad has ONLY DJI app on so no conflict there. I have tried various cables and still no difference.
thank you any way.
 

New Threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
140,485
Messages
1,448,118
Members
102,280
Latest member
Rural Rider