Howdy from Texas

Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
54
Newbie here. Me 53yo , wife :) , 27yo daughter, live south of Houston. Former pilot, Army, work in the petroleum industry now.
Fly a P3 , Will get my 107 shortly.
I have one early question. I own property in the county. I have NO gps support (or even phone for that matter)
Can I fly without GPS signal?
If so how? or where can I read on this.
Thanks
Dave
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,716
Reaction score
1,145
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
Welcome to the Forum!
No GPS? Is this in a cave? ;)

Yes you can fly it. It will be in the ATTI mode, Have you tried it there?

I would be shocked, that you won't have GPS.

Rod
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,716
Reaction score
1,145
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031

dirkclod

Moderator
Staff Member
Premium Pilot
Joined
May 9, 2014
Messages
14,518
Reaction score
8,101
Age
64
Location
Amory Mississippi
Welcome to the forum .
I hope you will find our site helpful and look forward to any input , photo's/video's you might post .
Don't be shy and ask anything if you can't find it by searching .
 

Capt KO

Premium Pilot
Joined
Feb 13, 2019
Messages
882
Reaction score
571
Age
67
Location
IRB, Fl
Inside, no gps. Outside, gps everywhere. No need for cell phone signal. Go fly, have fun.
Welcome from Florida 😎
 

SubseaFlyer

Premium Pilot
Joined
Aug 27, 2019
Messages
10
Reaction score
9
Location
North of Houston, South of Dallas
Howdy Neighbor!!

I do a lot of flying out in West Texas - Big Bend area (I'm from the Houston area as well), and out there it takes a few minutes, but I usually have a good satellite lock in about 60-90 seconds.

Where are you doing most of your flying?
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
54
Howdy Neighbor!!

I do a lot of flying out in West Texas - Big Bend area (I'm from the Houston area as well), and out there it takes a few minutes, but I usually have a good satellite lock in about 60-90 seconds.

Where are you doing most of your flying?
So usually I may have to wait to get 3-4 GPS signals but I've never not had at least one. I was trying to check out some land I bought in Moss Bluff , TX , North of Liberty. There are trees but not all that thick. I'll try again to wait longer for signal and see how that goes. Hope to get up there this weekend. It was mentioned I could take off and get up higher to secure a signal. Problem is I could get it to take off with no gps lock. I'm new so don't know the tricks.
 

msinger

Approved Vendor
Joined
Oct 30, 2014
Messages
31,067
Reaction score
10,328
Location
Harrisburg, PA (US)
Welcome to the forum! :)

Can I fly without GPS signal?
You can (if not in beginner mode), but it's not a great idea. Your drone won't be able to hold its position and it could be hard to track down if it lands in an unexpected location.
 

RodPad

Premium Pilot
Joined
May 20, 2015
Messages
5,716
Reaction score
1,145
Age
57
Location
Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
@Texxracer44,

Yeah, as stated not a great idea, but did you see the area he was taking off in?

"So usually I may have to wait to get 3-4 GPS signals"
Is this normal in open sky area

"but I've never not had at least one"
Is this at your property problem area?

How old is this P3? and what is the exact model?


Rod
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Age
54
@Texxracer44,

Yeah, as stated not a great idea, but did you see the area he was taking off in?

"So usually I may have to wait to get 3-4 GPS signals"
Is this normal in open sky area

"but I've never not had at least one"
Is this at your property problem area?

How old is this P3? and what is the exact model?


Rod
Its in a sort of remote area. Heavily wooded .5 miles south of Liberty TX and about 15-20 miles east of Houston. Not the middle of the congo. Just doesn't seem to want to get GPS connection.
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2016
Messages
15
Reaction score
8
Age
45
We started our UAV program years ago with a Phantom 3 Pro and it had many occasions with GPS and compass errors. They are much more susceptible to electromagnetic and vertical structure interference than the 4’s. You should try taking off in A-mode and then switching to P-mode. You’re going to have to do this if you decide to get into any kind of mapping or autonomous flight software.
 

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
136,388
Messages
1,410,518
Members
99,206
Latest member
FatDash