How does drone maintain altitude?

Reaction score
How does the bird maintain altitude. If you take off in a valley and go to 300ft, and say you fly towards a hill at 200ft above takeoff point does it maintain the 300ft above the hill or at 100ft. Newbie here still waiting for my craft, just trying to learn as much as can before first flight. THANKS GUYS

How does the bird maintain altitude. If you take off in a valley and go to 300ft, and say you fly towards a hill at 200ft above takeoff point does it maintain the 300ft above the hill or at 100ft. Newbie here still waiting for my craft, just trying to learn as much as can before first flight. THANKS GUYS
Just like a real plane, the Phantom stays at what height it is regardless of the ground level below it.