Home point

Reaction score
Hi guys newbie here and just wondering about 'Home Point'.

Since I have had my P3A I have been using my Samsung Note 4 on flight mode.

How do I go about setting and using the home point?

Do I need my phones GPS and Data on and flight mode disabled?

Let me know guys.

Thanks

Last edited:
How do I go about setting and using the home point?
Do I need my phones GPS and Data on and flight mode disabled?
Home point is set automatically before your Phantom gives you the green Ready to Fly GPS message.
i-nbJVsx5-L.jpg

If you are asking about resetting home point ...
i-bFCcbCk-L.jpg

You don't need GPS, data or flight mode on your phone - unless you want to reset home point to the controller's location, for which you will need GPS enabled on your phone or tablet.
Current advice is that this will not continue to update but only changes home to the location when it was reset.

Can you elaborate? Im not getting what your saying I dont think.

I believe this means your original home point remains the same. So, if for example you walk a few hundred feet away from where it lifted off, it will still return to the take off point, not to where you've moved to.

Basically I calibrate everytime before take off.

Status bar on my phone is green and states ready to fly (i think thats what is says or something similar lol) with about normally 15 - 25 GPS and full bars.

From what I understand is my home point is set from the take off position and not the phones GPS as some people say it is, am I correct?

The status indicator in settings (the small dot never has worked and does not show any colours though, but everyhing works fine)

Can you elaborate? I'm not getting what your saying I dont think.
Dynamic home point for the P2 would update every few seconds so it was good for a situation where you were moving in a boat or car etc.
BUT currently it does not work this way for the P3.