Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Help with Inspire 1 mount install

Discussion in 'Standard' started by MightyY, Nov 28, 2015.

  1. MightyY

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Had a question to those of you that have done the Inspire mount mod. I've taken my controller apart and it seems there's a bundle of wires and also a plastic ridge right where I want to drill. Obviously, I want to move the wires before I drill, but what about the plastic ridge? Do I just cut it away? Will I lose some rigidity in the controller?

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448725791.617912.jpg
     
  2. P.Lindblom

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Märsön, Sweden
    Don't worry. Once you've removed the silicone holding the wires in place you'll see there's already a gap in the ridge. The hole you're going to drill will be right in that gap, but it's not a bad idea to cut off some plastic from each side of it for better clearance. You won't make the controller weaker by doing so.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27,803
    Likes Received:
    8,640
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
  4. MightyY

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the responses. Makes me feel better before I butcher my week old controller.
     
  5. P.Lindblom

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Märsön, Sweden
    You won't regret it. The Inspire 1 mount is great.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. MightyY

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Done!

    P.Lindblom, I tried just screwing it into the plastic like you first, but it wobbled horribly? Does yours?

    Ended up putting in this two piece nut that I found on Summit Racing and now it's rock solid.

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448729760.165309.jpg
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448729771.450697.jpg
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448729782.116637.jpg
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448729790.500968.jpg
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  7. P.Lindblom

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Märsön, Sweden
    Very nice!

    Nope, mine is rock solid. I threaded the hole first, though.
     
  8. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    190
    I just did the same for my bird and my brother's using the same nut and Inspire 1 mobile device holder. Very stable and looks nice as well... ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448733407.835686.jpg ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448733424.885472.jpg

    The part number for the nut is AAF-ALL18548; 2 in a package from Summit Racing for those who are interested in doing similar mod.
    http://m.summitracing.com/parts/AAF-ALL18548
     
    #8 mandalay, Nov 28, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2015
  9. MightyY

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Looks good!

    Problem I have now is that the controller doesn't fit right in the DJI backpack anymore. I have to remove the mount to be able to zip up the bag. Real bummer!
     
  10. mandalay

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2015
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    190
    Yours looks good too. That sucks that you have to remove it. Happy flying -)
     
  11. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12,814
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Even with it folded down ?
     
  12. P.Lindblom

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Märsön, Sweden
    The DJI hardshell backpack is designed to hold an upright P3P/P3A remote and as the P3S remote is 30mm taller IT won't fit. With a considerable amount of cutting of the insert you might be able to fit the remote on its side.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  13. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    12,814
    Likes Received:
    6,853
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Well that's a pain !
     
  14. MightyY

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    9
    Looks like my only option is to modify the foam or remove the mount each time. Or get a new case.
     
  15. Mitch40

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for all your help, guys! I'm def doing this mod! The Inspire 1 holder is so much nicer!
     
  16. dpicx68

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    21
    Can you use a tablet with wifi only?? No cellular?? I.e iPad mini 2 or android tablet


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  17. cas_per_m

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Hengelo (G), The Netherlands
    Yes, you definitely can.

    The only difference will be that a non-cellular tablet usually doesn't have a GPS, so you won't be able to use the Follow Me mode and adaptive Homepoint.
     
    dpicx68 likes this.
  18. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27,803
    Likes Received:
    8,640
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    FYI, I recently posted comprehensive instriuctions for this mod here.
     
    Mitch40 likes this.
  19. Mitch40

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for Posting thaat msinger!
     
  20. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    27,803
    Likes Received:
    8,640
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA (US)
    You're welcome :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Help Inspire mount Forum Date
My P4 is now recognized as an Inspire. cant fly, Please Help! General Discussion Oct 13, 2017
HELP (Inspire remote with P3P) General Discussion Mar 13, 2017
Help Needed in Belmar/Lakewood, CO - Inspire 1 Pro General Discussion Mar 10, 2017
Inspire 1 - Lost - Flight Log Included - HELP Photos and Video Oct 10, 2016
Help! DJI Go app incorrectly identifies my P4 as an Inspire Phantom 4 Help Jul 25, 2016