Hacking 12v in P4 for strobes

Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
496
Likes
163
Location
Sarnia ON Canada
Website
www.inskyphoto.com
#4
Thanks for the ideas . . I do have one I planned to attach . . . just thought there might be an easy Hack that would not hurt the P4. That LIME CUBE is pretty hefty . . I'm going to try a couple of mini Strobes from a motorcycle kit . . very light weight and has internal flasher control unit . . . with "super bright" 4 LEDs . . we'll see how super bright they really are. Probably good in low light situations but we'll see. I'll post a photo later when I get it working
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
418
Likes
147
Age
57
#5
Stay out of the inside of the craft and trying to hack the wiring. It's not that difficult but it's also not necessary at all for what you're trying to do. that's all I was saying.
 
Likes: WetDog
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
496
Likes
163
Location
Sarnia ON Canada
Website
www.inskyphoto.com
#6
Stay out of the inside of the craft and trying to hack the wiring. It's not that difficult but it's also not necessary at all for what you're trying to do. that's all I was saying.
yes I agree . . prefer not to crack the case at all . . just hoping someone might know of a "plug in" . . USB connection or other way to get 12v for strobes. I think I will attach LEDs high up under the body to the 4 legs . . should be good to be more visible for low flying aircraft too like helicopters. . . or other drones
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2015
Messages
1,600
Likes
726
Age
64
#7
yes I agree . . prefer not to crack the case at all . . just hoping someone might know of a "plug in" . . USB connection or other way to get 12v for strobes. I think I will attach LEDs high up under the body to the 4 legs . . should be good to be more visible for low flying aircraft too like helicopters. . . or other drones
Strobes don't take a whole lot of juice. I have 5 Flytron strobes on a P3 run by a pair of Hubsan X4 batteries. Lasts all day. A benefit (so far unrealized, fortunately) is if you drop the Phantom due to a power issue, the strobes should still be functioning, hopefully enabling recovery.
 
Likes: WilsonFlyer
Joined
Apr 10, 2016
Messages
496
Likes
163
Location
Sarnia ON Canada
Website
www.inskyphoto.com
#9
Strobes don't take a whole lot of juice. I have 5 Flytron strobes on a P3 run by a pair of Hubsan X4 batteries. Lasts all day. A benefit (so far unrealized, fortunately) is if you drop the Phantom due to a power issue, the strobes should still be functioning, hopefully enabling recovery.
That Flytron all-in-one looks good . .may try that one too . . thanks for the ideas and Malletron too
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
306
Likes
68
Age
48
#10
Here is a link to something on amazon. It works for p3, I'm not sure what the p4 battery terminals look like but on p3 there are 2 terminals and the wires for light slide over them so when you plug your battery in ,the battery gives the light juice. I attached a strip of LEDs to the wire and they work great. I bought the headlight and cut the clip off and connected to the strip of LEDs that goes around the body of p3.
The link was to big I'll post pics in a little while. You can google headlight for phantom 3 to get the idea.
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2017
Messages
111
Likes
23
Age
61
Location
holden, missouri
#11
i have a p3advanced and used the flytron red/green/clear strobe kit on mine and love it. i use 1 3.7 volt li-po battery and a 3.7 volt to 5 volt dc to dc converter and all works great. you can see all from 400 foot during day time with no issues. i think 17.00 for all strobes and 5.99 for battery. great addition.
 
Likes: ianzone
Joined
Mar 23, 2017
Messages
326
Likes
119
Age
63
Location
Ohio
#12
From an engineering perspective don't try to hack into your Phantoms DC bus system. There is a chance that the device may inject noise into the flight systems controllers and that is not a good thing. Use a small LiPo pack instead.
 
Likes: ianzone
Joined
May 22, 2016
Messages
3,768
Likes
1,586
Location
NZ
#13
1492902587417-1169993927.jpg 1492902587417-1169993927.jpg
p4 is hard enough to keep in sight based on size and background light. Anyone know how to get 12 volts from inside to outside the case so I can add some long range strobes?
HI Yip you don't want to take any power from inside,,you can get strobon strobe lights like in these pics of mine,,makes so much difference 1492901965754-1595151805.jpg 1492902059594713710683.jpg this green strobe off my other drone runs off 3.7volt lipo batt..extremely bright can see it over long distance,I keep within hills where I am but can easily see at 2km..can go lot further but airport...:)good for nite flightsand yes I fly with OA off
 
Last edited:

New Threads

Forum statistics

Threads
130,700
Messages
1,356,046
Members
95,317
Latest member
Drone0815