Ground control to major tom

Reaction score
Anyone have any experience building a true ground control base? Specifically, I have built my landing pad on top of my workshop and i would like to install antennea on a 16ft rod over the building to control the drone. In addition, control my drone from my computer within the shop with joystick/display.

I'd love to sit in my recliner and fly a drone around the neighborhood, but the first rule I'd be violating is the VLOS requirement. Not to mention situational awareness with seeing and hearing low flying helicopters. Since I'm new to all this, not sure if you can get a waiver either. Sounds unsafe.

I'd love to sit in my recliner and fly a drone around the neighborhood, but the first rule I'd be violating is the VLOS requirement. Not to mention situational awareness with seeing and hearing low flying helicopters. Since I'm new to all this, not sure if you can get a waiver either. Sounds unsafe.

Im not in a neighborhood and Im way out in the country. So the military can fly drones out of sight but I can not? I dont follow...yah yah i know the "rules"...but seriously though...

I would call the local FAA's FSDO and ask them about the legalities. Their fines can be quite harsh.

Just kidding around....

Im talking waiver 107.31... my purpose is to track area wild turkeys, eventually develop my pc program skills to fly over areas for the TWRA or university groups.