Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flytrex Core 2

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by teslar, Nov 30, 2015.

  1. teslar

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    East Lothian UK
    I ordered one online Friday and it arrived today. Fitted and working already but no chance to try it out until Thursday if the weather improves.

    Here's a link to the install and operating instructions I used it was very helpful.

     
  2. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,044
    Likes Received:
    5,015
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I hot melt glued mine into the right side of the battery opening and cut a slot to access the card. When the battery is in it covers the slot. :)

    IMG_1106.jpg
     
    teslar likes this.
  3. Jacob

    Jacob Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    302
    I just taped mine to the leg. Never fell off, although it wasnt the most ideal attachment.
     
  4. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    That's a pretty cool mod. And the battery doesn't hit it?
     
  5. kenjancef

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    East Providence, RI
    I've been looking at this for a while, but not sure about it. I've wanted to track flight data on my P2. What can you do with the data once extracted?
     
  6. teslar

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    East Lothian UK
    The video at the start of the thread shows what it gives you. You can also export a file for use in Dashware
     
  7. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,044
    Likes Received:
    5,015
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Nope, theres more room in there than ya think. It is the perfect spot for it. :)
     
  8. teslar

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2015
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    East Lothian UK
    What about the barometer? According to the manual it should not be exposed to heat and should have free air around it to give accurate height measurement. Do you still get good height data when it's tucked away in there ?
     
  9. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    8,044
    Likes Received:
    5,015
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Certainly. It is vented not airtight so the air pressure is the same inside the shell as outside the shell. It also does not sit flat against the shell, there is a gap behind it you can't see in the photo.
    The OEM barometer that DJI uses is also inside the shell.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Flytrex Core Forum Date
flytrex core Pro/Adv Discussion Oct 10, 2015
Flytrex Core (I think) - name your price. Classifieds May 15, 2015
short video using Dash ware & flytrex Core 2 Photos and Video Apr 19, 2015
Flytrex core 2 and Phantom 2 - 3 flashes! Phantom 2 Help Apr 4, 2015
Loss of GPS sats after adding Flytrex Core2 Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion Mar 1, 2015